Garasu no Hana / ガラスの花

Garasu no Hana / ガラスの花 : “glass flower”

glass / GARASU / ガラス
Transliteration of “glass”. In some track listings, the title will be shown as “Glass no Hana” because of this, but since it’s a single and it was actually written out as “garasu”, I prefer to keep the roumaji.
no / の
A particle indicating that the previous word modifies the next word (almost equivalent to “of”)
hana / 花
“flower”

Garasu no Hana was Oku Hanako’s single released on August 4, 2010. There were two versions of the single: the regular CD only edition, and the special limited-edition Tales edition. The song itself was the opening theme for the Japan-only video game, Tales of Phantasia: Narikiri Dungeon X / テイルズ オブ ファンタジア なりきりダンジョンX (pronounced “cross”), released for the PSP, and played right at the beginning. I expect that this, like Garnet / ガーネット, is one of the entry points for a newcomer to Oku Hanako, although applicable to Japan only.

One of the reasons why I chose to post “Garasu no Hana” this week is because it’s been about a year since I first heard it. Like Kawaranai Mono / 変わらないもの, I was hooked instantly, although even more strongly this time.


Tales of Phantasia: Narikiri Dungeon X [Garasu No Hana] [Glass Flower] [Full Song] by RecurrentRistellise [YouTube]

Amazing! Just amazing! I was blown away, breath-taken, almost driven to tears at how good it sounded. She sings with control, but with power also. The arrangement is different from what she usually does: it’s fuller with a lot more intricate layers. Even after a year, I’m still impressed by it. Not only did she write the lyrics and composed the music herself, as she does with all her songs, I found out that she also arranged it! She doesn’t usually arrange her songs, at least, not until now, and I never expected an arrangement so stunning coming from her. Sure, she can compose, but arranging is another thing, something I know first-hand. Considering everything, Garasu no Hana is definitely one of her best, and one of my favourites.


Lyrics

Roumaji

Bokura wa tabi no tochuu deaeta kiseki no hane
Tsuyoku negaeba doko ni datte ikerusa
Bokura ga mitsuketa mono dare ni mo sagasenai yo
Tatoe sora ga togireru hi ga kite mo

Donna mirai ga matteita toshite mo
Hontou no kotoba dakede yami wo kuguri nuketeku

Kakegaenonai mono wo sagashiteku kimi no te ga boku o michiiteyuku yo
Hontou no tsuyosa wa yasashisa no naka ni kakurete mienai
GARASU no hana subete wo utsushite boku no kanashimi mo hikari ni kaeru yo
Ikiteyuku michi wo terashi tsuzuketeku

Nagareru toki no naka de dare mo ga wasureteyuku
Osaki hi ni miageta ano yume mo

Tatakai tsukareta boku no kokoro ni mayowazu ni yori sou kimi o
Zutto dakishimeteitai

Te wo nobashite mamorubeki mono ga boku ni wa aru koto oshietekureta ne
Mienai mirai ni obieta jibun wo nori koeteyuku yo
GARASU no hana subete wo tsutsun de kimi no kanashimi ga kudake chiru you ni
Boku wa mata yume no tsuzuki wo sagashite

Kakegaenonai mono wo mamorutame tatakai no hibi wa tsuzuiteyuku kedo
Hontou no tsuyosa wa yasashisa no naka ni kakurete mienai
GARASU no hana subete wo utsushite boku no kanashimi mo hikari ni kaeru yo
Ikiteyuku michi wo terashi tsuzuketeku

From JpopAsia.

Japanese

僕らは旅の途中 出会えた奇跡の羽
強く願えば 何処にだって行けるさ
僕らが見つけたもの 誰にも探せないよ
例え空が途切れる日が来ても

どんな未来が待っていたとしても
本当の言葉だけで 闇をくぐり抜けてく

かけがえのないものを探してく 君の手が 僕を導いてゆくよ
本当の強さは 優しさの中に隠れて見えない
ガラスの花 すべてを映して 僕の悲しみも光に変えるよ
生きてゆく道を照らし続けてく

流れる時間の中で 誰もが忘れてゆく
幼き日に見上げたあの夢も

戦い疲れた僕の心に 迷わずに寄り添う君を
ずっと抱きしめていたい

手を伸ばして 守るべきものが 僕にはあること教えてくれたね
見えない未来に怯えた自分を 乗り越えてゆくよ
ガラスの花 すべてを包んで 君の悲しみが砕け散るように
僕はまた夢の続きを探して

かけがえのないものを守るため 戦いの日々は続いてゆくけど
本当の強さは 優しさの中に隠れて見えない
ガラスの花 すべてを映して 君の悲しみも光に変えるよ
生きてゆく道を照らし続けてく

From okuhanako.net

Translation

With the wings of the miracle that we could meet during our journeys
We can go anywhere and everywhere if we wish strongly for it
What we have found is something no one else is looking for
Even if the day comes where the sky will end

No matter what future may lie ahead
We will pass through the darkness with only our words of truth

We are searching for irreplaceable things. Your hands leads me the way
True strength is invisible, hidden inside kindness
A glass flower reflects everything and changes even my sadness into light
It will continue to illuminate the path I live on

Inside the passage of time everyone forgets
Those dreams they looked up at when they were young

In my heart that has grown weary of fighting I always want to hug you
You who always nestles close to me without question

You held out your hand and taught me that some things are worth protecting
I want to get over that part of me who fears the unseen future
A glass flower envelops everything so that your sadness will scatter to pieces
I will search for my dreams again

Our days of fighting will continue so we may protect those things that are irreplaceable
True strength is invisible, hidden inside kindness
A glass flower reflects everything and changes even your sadness into light
It will continue to illuminate the path you live on

Translation by verduistering

A more liberal translation

A miracle is what it is to me,
That began these memories we share,
On this journey,
You know we can go anywhere

What we have is special to recall,
Something that no one else will ever know at all,
Even if the sky should fall

No matter what lies ahead for us to transgress,
We will pass through darkness;
Our only light will be truth we express

We are looking for one very special key;
Your hands grab mine and guide me through my blindness;
Now I know your true strength is hidden inside kindness,
That only two of us can see…

A glass flower reflects everything in sight,
It even changes sadness into a very bright light;
It will illuminate the path that we walk on tonight…

As time flows forward past regrets,
Eventually everyone forgets,
Those dreams that once,
Carried us through the darkened dusk

Through all of it, my fighting heart has grown so weary,
I always want to hold you dearly,
The one who helps me so sincerely…

You held out your hand; you’re the one that taught me,
That some things we should protect even if we are afraid;
I wish I could get over my fears and worries still swayed,
By the future that I cannot see…

A glass flower envelops without regard,
And your sadness will shatter into a million shards;
I will search for those long lost dreams that I once barred…

We keep fighting to protect all of the
Things that we cannot replace no matter what our progress;
Now I know your true strength is hidden inside kindness,
That only two of us can see…

A glass flower reflects everything in sight,
It even changes sadness into a very bright light;
It will illuminate the path that we walk on tonight

Translation from Sounds of Stardust

13 thoughts on “Garasu no Hana / ガラスの花

  1. Pingback: Oku Hanako ALL TIME BEST released! | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  2. Pingback: rebirth | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  3. Pingback: Honobono Yukou / ほのぼの行こう | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  4. Pingback: Komorebi no Naka de / 木漏れ日の中で | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  5. Pingback: Tsumiki / 積木 | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  6. Pingback: It looks like Oku Hanako did another movie theme song | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  7. Pingback: Garasu no Hana (Hikigatari ver.) / ガラスの花 (弾き語り ver.) | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  8. Pingback: Hane / 羽 | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  9. Pingback: Hanabi (Arranged Version) / 花火(アレンジバージョン) | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  10. For those wondering what’s on her shirt in the regular cover art, I took the liberty of doing a little image editing (I merely passed it through The GIMP’s equalizer):

    Garasu no Hana

    Garasu no Hana cover art, equalized.

    I can make out ‘SVILLE – RANDOM’ but I can’t seem to find anything about it.

What are your thoughts on Oku Hanako?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.