Garasu no Hana (Hikigatari ver.) / ガラスの花 (弾き語り ver.)

Garasu no Hana (Hikigatari ver.) / ガラスの花 (弾き語り ver.) : “glass flower” (solo piano version)

glass / GARASU / ガラス
Transliteration of “glass”. In some track listings, the title will be shown as “Glass no Hana” because of this, but since it’s a single and it was actually written out as “garasu”, I prefer to keep the roumaji.
no / の
A particle indicating that the previous word modifies the next word (almost equivalent to “of”)
hana / 花
“flower”
hikigatari / 弾き語り
“singing to one’s own accompaniment”. With Oku Hanako, the accompanying instrument is a piano.

This version of Garasu no Hana / ガラスの花 can be somewhat hard to find, since it was only included on the limited “Tales” edition.

For a song that sounded impressive because of the arrangement, I was a little skeptical about how Oku Hanako would manage to pull off a hikigatari version without making it boring. Granted, this was before I really knew what she was capable of, but I’m sure I wasn’t the only one wondering it. Solarblade thinks it’s boring (as expected), but I disagree. Take a listen and see if you do, too.


ガラスの花 (弾き語り ver.) [music.163.com]

To say the least, I’m impressed. Not everyone can pull off something like this. The reason why she can pull off making a hikigatari version sound so good, apart from being such a talented artist, is because she writes songs to perform them live (if I’m interpreting her history pages correctly). This is why it doesn’t sound empty when she performs her heavily-arranged songs live and hikigatari.

This hikigatari version has this emotion and “closeness” to it that the arranged version doesn’t have. I don’t think it’s fair to compare the two versions because although it’s the same song, they’re better suited for different moods. They’re both really well done.


Lyrics

Roumaji

Bokura wa tabi no tochuu deaeta kiseki no hane
Tsuyoku negaeba doko ni datte ikerusa
Bokura ga mitsuketa mono dare ni mo sagasenai yo
Tatoe sora ga togireru hi ga kite mo

Donna mirai ga matteita toshite mo
Hontou no kotoba dakede yami wo kuguri nuketeku

Kakegaenonai mono wo sagashiteku kimi no te ga boku o michiiteyuku yo
Hontou no tsuyosa wa yasashisa no naka ni kakurete mienai
GARASU no hana subete wo utsushite boku no kanashimi mo hikari ni kaeru yo
Ikiteyuku michi wo terashi tsuzuketeku

Nagareru toki no naka de dare mo ga wasureteyuku
Osaki hi ni miageta ano yume mo

Tatakai tsukareta boku no kokoro ni mayowazu ni yori sou kimi o
Zutto dakishimeteitai

Te wo nobashite mamorubeki mono ga boku ni wa aru koto oshietekureta ne
Mienai mirai ni obieta jibun wo nori koeteyuku yo
GARASU no hana subete wo tsutsun de kimi no kanashimi ga kudake chiru you ni
Boku wa mata yume no tsuzuki wo sagashite

Kakegaenonai mono wo mamorutame tatakai no hibi wa tsuzuiteyuku kedo
Hontou no tsuyosa wa yasashisa no naka ni kakurete mienai
GARASU no hana subete wo utsushite boku no kanashimi mo hikari ni kaeru yo
Ikiteyuku michi wo terashi tsuzuketeku

From JpopAsia.

Japanese

僕らは旅の途中 出会えた奇跡の羽
強く願えば 何処にだって行けるさ
僕らが見つけたもの 誰にも探せないよ
例え空が途切れる日が来ても

どんな未来が待っていたとしても
本当の言葉だけで 闇をくぐり抜けてく

かけがえのないものを探してく 君の手が 僕を導いてゆくよ
本当の強さは 優しさの中に隠れて見えない
ガラスの花 すべてを映して 僕の悲しみも光に変えるよ
生きてゆく道を照らし続けてく

流れる時間の中で 誰もが忘れてゆく
幼き日に見上げたあの夢も

戦い疲れた僕の心に 迷わずに寄り添う君を
ずっと抱きしめていたい

手を伸ばして 守るべきものが 僕にはあること教えてくれたね
見えない未来に怯えた自分を 乗り越えてゆくよ
ガラスの花 すべてを包んで 君の悲しみが砕け散るように
僕はまた夢の続きを探して

かけがえのないものを守るため 戦いの日々は続いてゆくけど
本当の強さは 優しさの中に隠れて見えない
ガラスの花 すべてを映して 君の悲しみも光に変えるよ
生きてゆく道を照らし続けてく

From okuhanako.net

Translation

With the wings of the miracle that we could meet during our journeys
We can go anywhere and everywhere if we wish strongly for it
What we have found is something no one else is looking for
Even if the day comes where the sky will end

No matter what future may lie ahead
We will pass through the darkness with only our words of truth

We are searching for irreplaceable things. Your hands leads me the way
True strength is invisible, hidden inside kindness
A glass flower reflects everything and changes even my sadness into light
It will continue to illuminate the path I live on

Inside the passage of time everyone forgets
Those dreams they looked up at when they were young

In my heart that has grown weary of fighting I always want to hug you
You who always nestles close to me without question

You held out your hand and taught me that some things are worth protecting
I want to get over that part of me who fears the unseen future
A glass flower envelops everything so that your sadness will scatter to pieces
I will search for my dreams again

Our days of fighting will continue so we may protect those things that are irreplaceable
True strength is invisible, hidden inside kindness
A glass flower reflects everything and changes even your sadness into light
It will continue to illuminate the path you live on

Translation by verduistering

A more liberal translation

A miracle is what it is to me,
That began these memories we share,
On this journey,
You know we can go anywhere

What we have is special to recall,
Something that no one else will ever know at all,
Even if the sky should fall

No matter what lies ahead for us to transgress,
We will pass through darkness;
Our only light will be truth we express

We are looking for one very special key;
Your hands grab mine and guide me through my blindness;
Now I know your true strength is hidden inside kindness,
That only two of us can see…

A glass flower reflects everything in sight,
It even changes sadness into a very bright light;
It will illuminate the path that we walk on tonight…

As time flows forward past regrets,
Eventually everyone forgets,
Those dreams that once,
Carried us through the darkened dusk

Through all of it, my fighting heart has grown so weary,
I always want to hold you dearly,
The one who helps me so sincerely…

You held out your hand; you’re the one that taught me,
That some things we should protect even if we are afraid;
I wish I could get over my fears and worries still swayed,
By the future that I cannot see…

A glass flower envelops without regard,
And your sadness will shatter into a million shards;
I will search for those long-lost dreams that I once barred…

We keep fighting to protect all of the
Things that we cannot replace no matter what our progress;
Now I know your true strength is hidden inside kindness,
That only two of us can see…

A glass flower reflects everything in sight,
It even changes sadness into a very bright light;
It will illuminate the path that we walk on tonight

Translation from Sounds of Stardust

6 thoughts on “Garasu no Hana (Hikigatari ver.) / ガラスの花 (弾き語り ver.)

  1. This is one of my favorite work of hers if not the favorite , both the arranged and hikigatari. I’m not really sure why though. I have a hard time describing what it is I find appealing in artists or any kind of music. I just like them >.>”.

    • It isn’t unjustified, I can tell you that.
      At some point, I’ll have to ask everyone to tell me what they think it is about Oku Hanako that they find so appealing, and then maybe we can gain some proper insight on it.

  2. Thanks a lot for digging this out! I usually prefer the Hikigatari versions of her songs, because they are more “intense” and “direct” than the large arrangements. They force you to listen closely and get involved much more directly. They are the pure extract of her work. How many of todays artists could do this with their “hits” without being ashamed? I am loving it!

    • I agree: there’s no arrangement to distract you from the core of the song. For example, I’ve since learned to appreciate it, but I thought the arrangement in Garnet (the arranged version, of course) was a distraction. I still think that of the arranged album version of Kimi no Egao / 君の笑顔 (good-bye).
      This is not to say that the arranged ones are any worse, but they have their places.

What are your thoughts on Oku Hanako?

