Fuyu Hanabi / 冬花火 : A new single to be released in January!

UPDATE 2014-01-22: Fuyu Hanabi has been released!

I was wondering when she’d come out with new material. I’m very excited!

Yesterday, Oku Hanako posted about her upcoming single, Fuyu Hanabi / 冬花火 (“winter fireworks”). This will be her 13th single and it will be released on January 22, 2014 for ¥1,260 (tax included; in US dollars, that’s about $12.50, but of course, with shipping fees, it’ll come out to be much more).

The track list is as follows:

  1. Fuyu Hanabi / 冬花火 [“winter fireworks“]
  2. Anata to Denwa / あなたと電話 [“phone call with you”]
  3. Nukumori / ぬくもり [“warmth“]
  4. Fuyu Hanabi (Piano Hikigatari) / 冬花火(ピアノ弾き語り)
  5. Fuyu Hanabi (Instrumental) / 冬花火(Instrumental)
  6. Anata to Denwa (Instrumental) / あなたと電話(Instrumental)

From the track list, I gather that Fuyu Hanabi is arranged (something I would expect from one of her singles). Since it has a piano hikigatari version, it’s probably more heavily arranged, like Anata ni Suki to Iwaretai or Garasu no Hana (although Koi Tsubomi and Hanabi had a hikigatari version and weren’t that heavily arranged), or perhaps like Genki de Itene. If Fuyu Hanabi is heavy, Anata no Denwa will be lighter and more upbeat, further suggested by the inclusion of an instrumental version. Nukumori is probably going to be a slower hikigatari track to balance things out. (see the update about Nukumori)

Update 2013-11-30: She has just released the cover art:

Fuyu Hanabi cover art

Fuyu Hanabi cover art

The Generasia wiki page has also been updated.

According to her post, early purchasers and those with reservations to the premium live event will also receive a limited edition Oku Hanako-design mini clearfile (size A5; if anyone can enlighten me on what a clearfile is, please do so!). I misunderstood it. One of the things to be given out is “a special lottery application postcard to attend a premium live event” (generasia).

It’s only about two months until January 22. I can hardly wait!

Unfortunately, I won’t be able to post any of the material from this single for about a year because I have to let the YouTube videos stabilize (although if we’re lucky, Pony Canyon will post the music video for Fuyu Hanabi and I can post that). But don’t worry, she still has a lot more songs we can go through.

Sorry, I mention singles in this post as if you should know what I’m talking about. This is partly my fault because I haven’t gotten around to building the discography page. If anyone would like to help me, please contact me.


8 thoughts on “Fuyu Hanabi / 冬花火 : A new single to be released in January!

  1. Pingback: Anata to Denwa / あなたと電話 | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  2. Pingback: Fuyu Hanabi | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  3. Pingback: Hanabi (Arranged Version) / 花火(アレンジバージョン) | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  4. As for tracks on the album that will follow this single, which I expect to come late 2014 or early 2015, okuhanako.net lists titles for some “in progress” songs:

    • Otome no Natsu / 乙女の夏
    • Hikari no Basho / 光の場所
    • Chiisana Ari / 小さなアリ
    • Nukumori / ぬくもり
    • Ikiru Toiu Koto / 生きるということ
    • Fuyu no Houseki / 冬の宝石
    • Zettai / 絶対
    • Maboroshi no Hibi / 幻の日々
    • Tokyo Saboten / 東京サボテン
    • Nishibi ga Sasu Houhe / 西日が差すほうへ
    • Mirai no Iro / 未来の色
    • Mou Nakanai de / もう泣かないで
    • Suki na Hito / 好きな人
    • Kageriyuku Machi de / かげりゆく街で
    • Hontou no Sekai / 本当の世界
    • Akai Kuruma / 赤い車
    • Shingen to Hachi Inu / 信玄と八犬

    Transliterations are from the J-talk translator, so they may not necessarily be accurate.

  5. Pingback: Nukumori / ぬくもり [Kame Kame House / カメカメハウス 2006-03-12] | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  6. Pingback: On the lyrics of Fuyu Hanabi | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  7. Pingback: New header image! [2013-12-06] | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  8. Actually, I don’t think it’s valid to mention the arranged version of Hanabi because the hikigatari version came first; her producers just wanted to do an arranged version because they thought people wouldn’t catch on if it were just plain piano hikigatari.

What are your thoughts on Oku Hanako?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.