“Oku Hanako no Hikigatari Dark Night☆” announced for June 20

Oku Hanako is releasing a Blu-ray of the live event she had in Osaka on November 23, 2017. It will be called “Oku Hanako no Hikigatari Dark Night ☆” / 奥華子の弾き語りダークナイト☆, after the concert, and it will be released on June 20, 2018. There will be two editions: a limited edition restricted to PCSC (Pony Canyon Shopping Club) preorders, worth ¥5875, and a regular edition, worth ¥5000. Preorders for the special edition are being accepted until May 17. Details can be found on the Pony Canyon page for the release.

There’s no cover art yet, but Pony Canyon released a digest video on YouTube:

【LIVE】Blu-ray「奥華子の弾き語りダークナイト☆」ダイジェスト映像 by ponycanyon [YouTube]

The benefits included with the special edition are an autographed glow-in-the-dark(?) sticker (闇を照らすステッカー) and a raffle ticket for a premium event in June.

Circular sticker with a yellow background. In black, a piano and a Piri with stars drawn by Oku Hanako. Text: "okuhanako dark night"

Sticker included with the limited edition of the release.

The track list is as follows (the digest video does not include all of them nor present them in this order):

  1. Maboroshi no Hibi / 幻の日々
  2. Sukidattanda / 好きだったんだ
  3. Himitsu no Takaramono / 秘密の宝物
  4. Sayonara no Kioku / さよならの記憶
  5. Toumei Kasa / 透明傘
  6. Tsuki no Soba de Nemuritai / 月のそばで眠りたい
  7. Trump / トランプ
  8. Puzzle / パズル
  9. Kimi no Sora / きみの空
  10. Kanashimi dake de Ikinaide / 悲しみだけで生きないで
  11. rebirth
  12. Meiro / 迷路
  13. Rashinban / 羅針盤
  14. Tanin no Namida / 他人の涙
  15. Saigo no Koi / 最後の恋
  16. Anata ni Suki to Iwaretai / あなたに好きと言われたい
  17. Period / ピリオド

There are poem readings after tracks 2, 5, 8, 11, and 14.

Also included are encores:

  1. Tasokare no Ennui / 黄昏のアンニュイ
  2. Sorezore / それぞれ

Tasokare no Ennui / 黄昏のアンニュイ (“Twilight Ennui”) is a new song introduced for this event. Sorezore was from the third disc of her 2012 “Oku Hanako BEST -My Letters-” compilation album.

I don’t know about you, but when I listen to these songs and think about what colours would go well with them, I think about darker colours. Or, put another way, these songs either sound dark/serious/less cheerful, are about a darker subject matter, or are suitable for listening to lying in bed with the lights off. I’m not sure I can describe what makes them sound like that, but I know that not all of the songs are in a minor key.

It’s not the single or album announcement I was hoping for, but hey, more hikigatari is always welcome.


4 thoughts on ““Oku Hanako no Hikigatari Dark Night☆” announced for June 20

  1. Pingback: “Oku Hanako no Hikigatari Dark Night☆” released! | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  2. It looks like it opens with the song that followers of your blog hate! Didn’t we discuss that. I will say it sounds better live.

    I’m trying to justify buying this Blu-Ray. I just bought the live set for 10th year two years ago.

    Miss Oku looks BEAUTIFUL in that outfit. The hair and the face — such a joy to see.

What are your thoughts on Oku Hanako?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.