Kumo Yori mo Tooku / 雲よりも遠く

Kumo Yori mo Tooku / 雲よりも遠く: “Further Than Even the Clouds”

kumo / (くも)
“cloud”
yori / より
“more than”
mo / も
A particle meaning “also” or “even”
tooku / (とお)
“distant”

The Delta Aquariids meteor shower peaks this Friday night/Saturday morning, and meteors are certainly farther than the clouds.

“Kumo Yori mo Tooku” is the first track on her self-produced indies single vol.1, reappearing again as the second track on vol.best.

I never realized how much of a sad song this is. We have a translation today by Icepath that reveals the singer longing for a former lover who left her for someone else. Her love is out of reach, further than even the clouds. Heavy stuff; this is her indies for you.

The chorus features Oku Hanako trying to hit higher notes. Not surprisingly, she doesn’t hit them as well as she would today (for example, see Ai to Iu Takaramono / 愛という宝物); it comes out a little airy and a bit jarring. Because of that, I wouldn’t recommend having someone new to Oku Hanako’s works listen to this just yet. For those of us who have been fans for a while, we can use this to show just how much she’s improved as a singer. That said, I’ve heard this song enough times that it doesn’t sound out-of-place for me.


Kumo Yori mo Tooku-Oku Hanako **Sub español+ Letra romaji** by Azura Allazjward Kurosu [YouTube]

She really brings out the longing in her singing, and the hikigatari piano adds a fitting sense of loneliness.

On the lyrics, I wonder if the singer is actually meant to be male. The singer went to lengths to buy a ring, which is traditionally bought by the man, and she uses the masculine pronoun boku / 僕.


Lyrics

Roumaji

Kimi ni aitakute kimi ni aenakute
Semete kokorogawari wo boku no sei ni shite
Kimi no yasashisa ga boku no mune no naka de
Tsumetaku iki wo shiteiru

Boku wa nando mo me wo tojite wa
Nani mo mienai furi wo shiteita
Kimi no kokoro ga koko ni nai koto
Tokku ni boku wa shitteita kedo

Kimi no yorokobu kao ga mitakute
Sukoshi muri shite katta yubiwa mo
Donna kaze ni sutetara ii no ka
Kotae ga mitsukaranai mama

Kimi ni aitakute kimi ni aenakute
Semete kokorogawari wo boku no sei ni shite
Kimi no yasashisa ga boku no mune no naka de
Tsumetaku iki wo shiteiru

Yuugure semaru fuyu no sora wa
“Omoide” to iu kaze ga fuiteiru
Kimi wa waratteiru darou ka
Boku yori suki ni natta hito no yoko de

Kimi ni aitakute kimi ni aenakute
Chika sugite mienai hodo soba ni ita no ni
Kumo yori mo tooku hoshi yori mo mabushiku
Boku no te no todokanai hou e

Kimi ga oshiete kureta hon wo
Nando mo yomikaeshiteiru uchi wa
Donna ni tsuyogatte jiyuu wo te ni shite mo
Munashiku toki ga sugite yuku

Kimi ni aitakute kimi ni aenakute
Semete kokorogawari wo boku no sei ni shite
Dare ka no nukumori wo nokoshita mama de ii
Boku no soba ni ite hoshii

kimi ni aitakute kimi ni aenakute
chika sugite mienai hodo soba ni ita no ni
kumo yori mo tooku hoshi yori mo mabushiku
boku no te no todokanai hou e
boku no te no todokanai hou e
Transliteration by Icepath (lightly edited by tPenguinLTG)

Japanese

君に会いたくて 君に会えなくて
せめて心変わりを僕のせいにして
君の優しさが 僕の胸の中で冷たく息をしている

僕は何度も目を閉じては 何も見えない振りをしていた
君の心がここに無い事 とっくに僕は知っていたけど
君の喜ぶ顔が見たくて 少し無理して買った指輪も
どんな風に捨てたらいいのか答えが見つからないまま

君に会いたくて 君に会えなくて せめて心変わりを僕のせいにして
君の優しさが 僕の胸の中で冷たく息をしている

夕暮れ迫る冬の空は’思い出’という風が吹いている
君は笑っているだろうか 僕より好きになった人の横で

君に会いたくて 君に会えなくて 近すぎて見えないほど側にいたのに
雲よりも遠く 星よりも眩しく 僕の手の届かない方へ

君が教えてくれた本を何度も読み返しているうちは
どんなに強がって自由を手にしても 虚しく時が過ぎて行く

君に会いたくて 君に会えなくて せめて心変わりを僕のせいにして
誰かの温もりを残したままでいい 僕の側にいて欲しい
君に会いたくて 君に会えなくて 近すぎて見えないほど側にいたのに
雲よりも遠く 星よりも眩しく 僕の手の届かない方へ

僕の手の届かない方へ

From okuhanako.net

Translation

Wanting to see you; unable to see you
At least blame your change of heart on me
Your kindness is
Coldly breathing within my heart

Of the many times that I closed my eyes
I was acting like I couldn’t see anything
But I knew from long ago
That your heart was not here

I still can’t find an answer
As to how to throw away
That ring that I had gone to lengths to buy
In a desire to see your contented face

Wanting to see you; unable to see you
At least blame your change of heart on me
Your kindness is
Coldly breathing within my heart

As dusk closes in, a wind of “remembrance” is
Blowing across the winter sky
I wonder if you are smiling now
Beside the person you fell more in love with than me

Wanting to see you; unable to see you
Even though we’re so close that I can’t see you
Further than even clouds, brighter than even stars
To somewhere my hands cannot reach

While I re-read over and over again
The book that you introduced me to
No matter how I forcibly take hold of freedom
Time still passes meaninglessly

Wanting to see you; unable to see you
At least blame your change of heart on me
It’s fine if it’s the warmth that someone left behind
I just want it by my side

Wanting to see you; unable to see you
Even though we’re so close that I can’t see you
Further than even clouds, brighter than even stars
To somewhere my hands cannot reach

To somewhere my hands cannot reach

Translation by Icepath

2 thoughts on “Kumo Yori mo Tooku / 雲よりも遠く

  1. These slightly off high notes add to the desperate feeling of this song. A little bit like after a long crying session not being able to speak right ….

What are your thoughts on Oku Hanako?

