Kimi no Hana / キミの花

Kimi no Hana / キミの花: “Your Flower”

kimi / キミ
“you”. Written out in katakana, possibly for stress (i.e. “your flower” as opposed to “your flower“)
no / の
A particle indicating possession. Roughly equivalent to “of”.
hana / 花
“flower”

Oku Hanako’s new double A-side single, Kimi no Hana/Saigo no Kiss / キミの花/最後のキス has been released!

I’ve taken a listen to the songs on the single and it seems to be a bit of a departure from her usual style. If you’ve heard the TV size version of Kimi no Hana from either Seiren or the short music videos, you’ll know that the song features the piano less prominently and takes on a more rock style. I’ll briefly discuss my opinion on the other two songs afterwards.

I was going to publish this post yesterday, but I figured you wouldn’t mind the wait if it were to provide a good translation. I found a translation by Nakari Amane, but it needed so much editing that I ended up just making my own. My translation is available below, and my translation notes are available. As this is my first complete translation of a song, any corrections are appreciated.

Here’s the music video:

HO – KnH by Aysohmay [Dailymotion]

I’m actually okay with this. I still prefer her older piano works wish she would do more of that style, but I don’t think I’d complain too much if we got more of this. Although it’s not prominent, if you listen closely, the piano is still an important part of the song, where instead of the piano being singled out as being the more important instrument (other than the part after the pre-chorus), it works together with the others to create a beautiful song. The more I listen to this song, the more I appreciate it.

Thinking back to her previous songs, the pre-chorus reminds me a little of Aitai Toki ni Aenai / 逢いたいときに逢えない.

As for Seiren, the series where this song is featured as the opening theme, I watched the first arc (four episodes) and so far it doesn’t seem like it’s particularly worth watching. It feels too much like a fanservice grab. Oku Hanako had written the song after reading the script, and given the first arc and the lyrics, I can see how it fits.

I’ll give a brief summary of my opinion for the other songs on the single. Saigo no Kiss / 最後のキス sounds more like her usual style, with the piano as the main instrument with strings accompanying, although it still feels different. It’s a bit less “dramatic” than I expected. If I were to compare it with any of her older songs, I might compare it with Anata ni Suki to Iwaretai / あなたに好きと言われたい (which actually fits “dramatic singing over strings” better than Saigo no Kiss).

It’s unfortunate that Tsumiki / 積木 was a great disappointment. So great, in fact, that I have to say I dislike it. I almost can’t bear to finish listening to it. Think of the original version of Genki de Ite ne / 元気でいてね (on Utakata) or half the songs on her good-bye album: its style is similar. Her singing also sounds very lacking, especially if you compare it to the original. Who knows, perhaps I’ll come to like it in time, but for now, every time I listen to it, I just have to go back and listen to the original.

Of the three songs, I think Kimi no Hana is the best one.

She’s apparently doing a hikigatari national tour, so we might get to hear really nice hikigatari versions of these songs.


Lyrics

Roumaji

Mou boku no kono mune wa doko ni mo nigenai kimi e to mukau yo
Ima kakedashite yukeru koisuru basho e to nando demo

Hajimete kimi wo mita shunkan no koto surō mōshon mitai ni subete ga
Boku no atama no naka ni inputto sareteku kimi no kami mo warau yokogao mo

Kyoushitsu ni hibiku koetachi sugu ni kimi wo sagashidaseru

Au tabi kimi wo suki ni natte chiisana te ni furetakute
Kimi no koe ga kaze ni kirameku hana no you ni
Hakanage de dakedo tsuyoku kagayaki tsuduketeru kara
Itsu datte boku datte sono te wo chanto nigirishimetai

Surechigau tabi kimi no kaori ga yureteru boku no kokyuu dare ni mo jamasasenai
Seifuku no poketto ni tsumekon da omoi mo kimi no moto e afuredashi sou

Nanigenai kaerimichi demo kimi ga mata tokubetsu ni suru

Moshimo kimi ga boku no tonari de waratteite kureru nara
Nani mo kowai mono nante nai to omoeru yo
Mujaki ni hashagu sugata mo utsumuita kimi no kage mo
Itsu datte boku datte kono te de chanto mamotte mitai

Motto kimi ni chikadukitainda dare mo shiranai kimi wo mitsuketai
Zutto sagashiteitanda hiroi kono sekai de hitotsu dake no kimi to iu hana wo

Au tabi kimi wo suki ni natte chiisana te ni furetakute
Kimi no koe ga kaze ni kirameku hana no you ni
Hakanage de dakedo tsuyoku kagayakitsuduketeru kara
Itsu datte boku datte sono te wo chanto nigirishimetai

Transliterated using the J-talk Kanji Converter

Japanese

もう僕のこの胸は どこにも逃げない 君へと向かうよ
今 駆け出してゆける 恋する場所へと 何度でも

初めて君を見た瞬間のこと スローモーションみたいに全てが
僕の頭の中にインプットされてく 君の髪も 笑う横顔も

教室に響く声たち すぐに君を探し出せる

会うたび君を好きになって 小さな手に触れたくて
君の声が 風に煌めく花のように
儚げで だけど強く 輝き続けてるから
いつだって 僕だって その手をちゃんと握り締めたい

すれ違うたび 君の香りが揺れてる 僕の呼吸 誰にも邪魔させない
制服のポケットに詰め込んだ想いも 君のもとへ溢れ出しそう

何気ない帰り道でも 君がまた特別にする

もしも君が僕のとなりで 笑っていてくれるなら
何も怖い物なんて無いと思えるよ
無邪気に はしゃぐ姿も うつむいた君の影も
いつだって 僕だって この手でちゃんと守ってみたい

もっと君に近付きたいんだ 誰も知らない君を見つけたい
ずっと探していたんだ 広いこの世界で 一つだけのキミという花を

会うたび君を好きになって 小さな手に触れたくて
君の声が 風に煌めく花のように
儚げで だけど強く 輝き続けてるから
いつだって 僕だって その手をちゃんと握り締めたい

From Mojim

Translation

This heart of mine can’t escape anymore
It goes to where you are
Now, I can run off to where I fall in love
over and over again

The moment when I first saw you,
everything appeared in slow motion
It was fed into my mind:
your hair, your smiling profile

Out of the resounding voices in the classroom,
I can find yours right away

I fall in love with you each time we meet
I want to touch your small hand
Your voice glistens like a flower in the wind
Fleeting yet powerful, it continues to shine
I want to be the one to always hold that hand tight

Whenever we pass by each other, your scent fills the air
No one can get in the way of my breath
The feelings that I stuffed in my uniform’s pocket
look like they will pour out to you

Even on the indifferent way home, you make me feel special

If you are by my side smiling for me,
I don’t think anything can scare me
The innocent merry figure, the shadow when you hang your head
I want to be the one to always try to truly protect this hand

I want to get closer to you
I want to find you, the one whom nobody knows
I want to keep searching in this vast world
for the one flower that is you

I fall in love with you each time we meet
I want to touch your small hand
Your voice glistens like a flower in the wind
Fleeting yet powerful, it continues to shine
I want to be the one to always hold that hand tight

Translation by tPenguinLTG based on translations by Nakari Amane and Thaerin Philos

3 thoughts on “Kimi no Hana / キミの花

  1. Pingback: Haruka Tooku ni Mieteita Kyou released! | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  2. Pingback: New album announced: Haruka Tooku ni Mieteita Kyou / 遥か遠くに見えていた今日 | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  3. Come to think of it, given the lyrics, I don’t think キミの花 should be translated as “Your Flower”. It should probably be more like “The Flower That Is You”. In this case, no / の acts as a modifier instead of a possessive indicator.

What are your thoughts on Oku Hanako?

