Sonna Fuu ni Shika Ienai Kedo / そんな風にしか言えないけど

Sonna Fuu ni Shika Ienai Kedo / そんな風にしか言えないけど: “Even Though I Have No Other Way to Say It”

sonna fuu ni / そんな風に
“that way”

sonna / そんな
“that”
fuu / 風
“style”
ni / に
A particle indicating a passive agent (“by”; Wiktionary etymology 2, definition 4)
shika / しか
“only”. Must be used with a verb in the negative form.
ienai / 言えない
“cannot say”. Negative potential form of 言う (“to say”). However, since this is used with shika / しか, the meaning is “can say” with a limitation.
kedo / けど
“but”

Valentine’s Day is here! Even though the majority of Oku Hanako’s songs are about love, it’s still difficult to choose one for today because about half of them are about unrequited love or a breakup.

“Sonna Fuu ni Shika Ienai Kedo” is one of Oku Hanako’s earlier songs, first appearing as track 4 on her first major album, Yasashii Hana no Saku Basho / 優しい花の咲く場所, released in 2006. It was later released in her Oku Hanako BEST -My Letters- 2012 collection as track 12 on disc 2.

Edward provides us with the translation for the title for today’s song (as well as the song itself). I chose his translation over the more literal translation “But I Can Only Say It That Way”, the one I put in the Generasia wiki, because I felt it fit better with the song. As usual, I encourage you to read his translation notes.


(MAD)うさぎドロップ~「そんな風にしか言えないけど」【奥華子】 by lemone [Nico Nico Douga]

This song was apparently also used as a CF song for a JA Kyosai[jp] commercial, but I unfortunately can’t find the commercial. According to Wikipedia, the English name for the company is the National Mutual Insurance Federation of Agricultural Cooperatives. Edward has this to say about a possible reinterpretation of the song:

If the chorus is used in a commercial, as was the case when Kimi no Egao was used in a commercial, then a change in interpretation would be due to a change in who is delivering the message. In the song, it is someone who loves you. In an insurance company’s commercial, it’s someone who wants to do business with you. In the commercial, the message I imagine would be along the lines of “If you’re worried about something, why don’t let us worry about it instead? We can’t solve the problem for you, but we can insure you so that you don’t need to worry (about paying for anything) if the worst should happen”.


Lyrics

Roumaji

Eki no hōmu no mukou gawa de kimi ga te wo futteru
Itsu datte massugu na kimi ni boku wa kotaerareru ka na

Hashiridashita densha no naka kimi wa nani wo omotteiru darou
Hito no sukima kara mieta chiisana kimi no sugata ga yakeni itoshikute

Kimi no te ni kakaeteru donna chiisana kurushimi demo
Boku no te ni kurenai ka sonna koto shika ienai kedo
Sonna fuu ni shika ienai kedo

Dare ka wo kizutsuketa toki wa mune ga itakunatte
Sore wo mata hito no sei ni shite boku wa ikite kita no ka na

Mayowa nai kokoro wa nai to kimi ga boku ni oshiete kureta ne
Ano hi no yasashisa ni boku wa nani mo iezu ni
Kimi wo mite tada kurushikunatta

Dakishimeta nukumori ga kimi no egao ni kawaru you ni
Nan do demo atatameru sonna koto shika dekinai kedo
Boku no soba ni ite kurenai ka

Onaji hōmu de onaji densha wo matteru futari ni naritai
Kimi to boku ga hanarete iku riyuu nante nani mo nai kara

Kagiri aru toki no naka dore dake kimi wo omoeru darou
Sono mune de nakanai de ima kimi wo mukae ni iku kara

Kimi no te ni kakaeteru donna chiisana kurushimi demo
Boku no te ni kurenai ka sonna koto shika ienai kedo
Sonna fuu ni shika ienai kedo

Kimi wo kokoro kara aishimasu

Transliterated using the J-Talk Kanji Converter

Japanese

駅のホームの向こう側で 君が手を振ってる
いつだって まっすぐな君に 僕は答えられるかな

走り出した電車の中 君は何を思っているだろう
人の隙間から見えた 小さな君の姿が やけに愛しくて

きみの手に抱えてる どんな小さな苦しみでも
ぼくの手にくれないか そんな事しか言えないけど
そんな風にしか言えないけど

誰かを傷つけた時は 胸が痛くなって
それをまた人のせいにして 僕は生きてきたのかな

迷わない心は無いと君が 僕に教えてくれたね
あの日の優しさに 僕は何も言えずに
君を見て ただ苦しくなった

抱きしめた温もりが 君の笑顔に変わるように
何度でも温める そんな事しか出来ないけど
僕のそばにいてくれないか

同じホームで 同じ電車を待ってる二人になりたい
君と僕が離れていく理由なんて何も無いから

限りある時間の中 どれだけ君を想えるだろう
その胸で泣かないで 今 君を迎えに行くから

きみの手に抱えてる どんな小さな苦しみでも
ぼくの手にくれないか そんな事しか言えないけど
そんな風にしか言えないけど

君を心から愛します

From okuhanako.net

Translation

You wave at me from the other side of the station platform
Will I be able to repay your constant sincerity?

Aboard the departing train, what are you thinking about?
The sight of your small figure among the crowd is very endearing

However small the pain that you grip in your hand
Can you place it in my hands? Even though there is nothing else I can say
Even though I have no other way to say it

My heart ached whenever I hurt someone
Then I would blame it on someone else; this was how I had been living

“Your heart isn’t lost”, you said to me
Your kindness on that day left me speechless
I only felt pain while looking at you

I wish that the embraced warmth can turn into your smile
It has provided warmth many times, even though that is all it can do
Will you stay by my side?

I want us to be a couple who wait for the same train on the same platform
There will be no reason for us to part ways

How much can I think about you in this limited time?
I shouldn’t cry, I’m heading out now to welcome you

However small the pain that you grip in your hand
Can you place it in my hands? Even though there is nothing else I can say
Even though I have no other way to say it

I love you from the bottom of my heart

Translation by Edward from the Chinese

What are your thoughts on Oku Hanako?

