All Songs Live! Blu-ray BOX released!

Oku Hanako’s All Song’s Live! Blu-ray BOX was released on Wednesday! As far as I know, it was only available through pre-order directly from Pony Canyon. I’m not aware of any plans to make a general release edition, although I think it would be foolish of them to not make one.

Pony Canyon released a digest PV earlier this month:


『奥華子 10周年ありがとう!弾き語り全曲ライブ!Blu-ray BOX』ダイジェスト映像 by ponycanyon [YouTube]

In order of appearance, the songs in the video are:

  1. Kawaranai Mono / 変わらないもの
  2. Garnet / ガーネット
  3. Kyokaisen / 虚界線
  4. Rainy day
  5. Toshiue no Kare / 年上の彼
  6. MOTHER
  7. Cinderella / シンデレラ
  8. Puzzle / パズル
  9. ta.la.la
  10. Rashinban / 羅針盤
  11. Zettai / 絶対
  12. Trump / トランプ
  13. GOOD BYE!
  14. Waratte Waratte / 笑って笑って
  15. Hatsukoi / 初恋

Yes, that’s Zettai / 絶対 from the Oku Hanako Day concert. I also realized that Chiisa na Ari / 小さなアリ, released on the double A-side single Omoide ni Nare/Ai to Iu Takaramono / 思いでになれ/愛という宝物, is from these concerts.

I find it interesting that they use the last line of the first pre-chorus for Kawaranai Mono:

すれ違う人の中で 君を追いかけた
surechigau hito no naka de kimi wo oikaketa
In the crowd of strangers, I ran after you

Kawaranai Mono was the only one of the 15 songs that wasn’t labelled and played from the chorus, so I’m inclined to think using this line is supposed to be symbolic.

And of course they end with Hatsukoi. They always do.

10 thoughts on “All Songs Live! Blu-ray BOX released!

  1. Regarding HO entire music history:

    I’m not sure if we ever talked about this HO cover song.

    I have become a big fan of 1990s Japanese singer Moritaka Chisato.
    On this YT post, Hanak Oku covers one of Moritaka Chisato’s most famous songs. Now I love Hanako Oku, and I would have loved this cover, had I not already been aware of the original.

    Pretty cute right? Like sweet child-like, innocent Hanako Oku. Trouble is it PALES in comparison to the Chisato original. That is not a knock against HO. There are many other covers of this song on YT by many artists and NO ONE comes close to Moritaka.

    Listen to this but the Little Great One will sound like an amateur in comparison.

    PS I was introduced to so much great Japanese singer by WordPress blogger Morningberryz48 (Denny clutches heart, wimpers).
    MB had stopped blogging a few months ago.

    I’m not sure what the lady thought of Hanako Oku, but she was not all that enthusiastic when I broached the topic.
    I regret that I could not get into a meaningful conversation with her. She was fluent in Japanese so she could have helped out our HO posts.
    (Denny imitates Darth Vader): “She would have made a powerful ally.” …

    • Oku Hanako had done a lot of covers on her old radio show, Kame Kame House. I heard this cover in one of the videos that featured a bunch of her covers (I’ll have to dig up the actual video sometime, which might already be posted in the Discussion page, but here are some of her similar covers). She sounds like an amateur because it was probably sung live on her radio show.

      This particular one was featured on her radio show June 2008.

      I hadn’t actually bothered to look up the original before, but man, that’s good. I can still appreciate Oku Hanako’s cover, though, because I know it’s from her radio show.

  2. I’m hitting the “Like” button even though PonyCanyon marketing geniuses blocked the preview video.

    You want to know what is a HOOT?
    In the new Pokemon Sun/Moon game, one of the Alola region islands is named “Poni Island”. Guess what, there is an area — a canyon– named “Poni Canyon”. There are a lot of those big Pokemon rats – Raticate – living there.
    Ha.

    • I hope I did not hurt the rats feelings, wrongly comparing them to people who work in music industry.

      Actually, I have noticed that several PonyCanyon artists now have videos which are available to be seen in the USA.
      It started a few days ago.
      I can now view the PonyCanyon “official” music videos for Hanako Oku. — including the one above — which I was not able to play when you first posted it.

      Hanako Oku videos have been showing up in my “suggested” and “watch it again” lists on YouTube. So that has been great.

      I’m a fan of late 1908s-early 1990s Japanese idol groups. One of which is “ribbon”. They had all not been available in my country until a few days ago … now I can get “ribboned” out.

      I don’t know why PonyCanyon changed those, and there are probably other artists also affected. Unfortunately AKB48 and the sister groups are in PonyCanyon (except NMB48) and all of those are all still blocked in the US.

      I hope the change is not just temporary. I was thinking that the availability was because someone “screwed up” and the error will get fixed and the US will be blocked again.

      Otherwise I am feeling a little guilty and a little sorry for calling record executives ….
      … well you know what they are.

      • I’m glad PonyCanyon changed, as I had been losing my interest in Hanako Oku, as so much was blocked. I feel invigorated in my interest now, and remembering what I liked about her so much.

      • Wooah … I just found out that Watarirouka Hashiritai are not blocked any more! “Gyu Gyu Gyu”!
        What has happened?
        I’m feeling so bad about burning PonyC anyon execs in effigy!

What are your thoughts on Oku Hanako?

