Ai to Iu Takaramono / 愛という宝物

Ai to Iu Takaramono / 愛という宝物: “A Treasure Called Love”

ai / 愛
“love”
to / と
A particle used as a quotation
iu / いう
“to call” (a name), “to say”. Also written as 言う.
takaramono / 宝物
“treasure”

Oku Hanako’s new double A-side single, Omoide ni Nare/Ai to Iu Takaramono / 思い出になれ/愛という宝物 has been released!

Today, I have for you the only song that I could find out of the three songs on the single: the second of the two A-sides, Ai to Iu Takaramono / 愛という宝物. It’s the CM song for the “2016 cross fm official GREEN campaign”.


愛という宝物 by yasutaka [Nico Nico Douga]

At first when I found a video for the song, I thought it was going to be one of those useless fan announcement videos (if you’re going to announce something by a music artist, at least use her music!); I was about to skip it when I heard her voice come in.

This song has a style that I’ve never heard before in any of her other songs, and yet I think it’s still distinctly hers. One of the things I notice about this song is all the voice layering: it’s not a new technique for her, but it seems to be done a lot more in this song; usually it’s restricted to just a certain section like the bridge or interlude. Sure I miss her old style, but I’m not complaining about this one. Overall, I think the style sounds very refined.

I can’t wait to hear the rest of the single!


Lyrics

Roumaji

Taiyou no hikari ga sasu madobe ni yorikakatteita
anata to te wo tsunai da toki no nukumori ni niteru kigashita

hitori ja mitsukaranai mono ga kono hoshi no doko ka ni chirabattete
megurimeguru kisetsu wo koete deau toki wo matteiru

I love you anata ga ima koko ni itekureta nara
aitai yo tte negau kimochi ga
kaze ni notte todoku kigashita

dare mo nani mo kizutsuke zu ikite wa yukenai kanashisa
soredemo taisetsu na hito no koe mimi wo sumaseteitai no

kirameku sekai ga mieru nara donna kurayami mo toorinukeru
ame mo kaze mo sora mo midori mo subete wa tsunagatteiru

I love you anata to ima te wo tsunai de aruiteitai
“ai” to iu houmotsu dake ga itsumo kono mune ni areba ii

tooi mukashi ni umareta inochi no kagayaki
ima watashi no mune koko ni ikitsuduketeru

I love you kono kotoba dake anata ni tada tsutaetakute
“ai” to iu houmotsu dake ga zutto koko ni nokottereba ii

I love you anata ga ima koko ni itekureta nara
aitai yo tte negau kimochi ga
kaze ni notte todoku kigashita

Transliterated using the J-Talk Kanji Converter

Japanese

太陽の光が射す 窓辺に寄りかかっていた
あなたと手を繋いだ時の ぬくもりに似てる気がした

1人じゃ見つからないものが この地球(ほし)のどこかに散らばってて
巡り巡る季節を越えて 出会う時を待っている

I love you あなたが今 ここにいてくれたなら
会いたいよって願う気持ちが
風に乗って届く気がした

誰も何も傷つけず 生きてはゆけない悲しさ
それでも 大切な人の声 耳を澄ませていたいの

煌めく世界が見えるなら どんな暗闇も通り抜ける
雨も風も空も緑も 全ては繋がっている

I love you あなたと今 手を繋いで歩いていたい
「愛」という宝物だけが いつもこの胸にあればいい

遠い昔に 生まれた命の輝き
今 私の胸 ここに生き続けてる

I love you この言葉だけ あなたにただ伝えたくて
「愛」という宝物だけが ずっとここに残ってればいい

I love you あなたが今 ここにいてくれたなら
会いたいよって願う気持ちが
風に乗って届く気がした

From Uta-Net

Translation

Submit a translation

6 thoughts on “Ai to Iu Takaramono / 愛という宝物

  1. Pingback: Haruka Tooku ni Mieteita Kyou released! | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  2. Pingback: New album announced: Haruka Tooku ni Mieteita Kyou / 遥か遠くに見えていた今日 | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  3. Pingback: Track list for Kimi no Hana / キミの花 | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
    • Thanks for the link. I had noticed that earlier today, actually. I think there’s an echo applied to it, because if you compare this Ai to Iu Takaramono with the one they posted, the latter has an obvious echo applied to it.

      I will say that both seem to be a departure from her usual style, putting less emphasis on the piano, so it’ll be interesting to see how the album will turn out.

What are your thoughts on Oku Hanako?

