Translation for Ichibanboshi / 一番星

Ichibanboshi / 一番星: “First star” (of the evening).

Today I’ve decided to feature a translation of “Ichibanboshi” by new translator, Daniel. He expressed his desire to contribute translations to the site about two months ago and will be doing so by posting them to his Tumblr blog. There are seven more that I will post sometime.

Before I read the translation, back when I first heard the song and didn’t know any Japanese, I had assumed it was a wish on the first star of the night. Of course, this being Oku Hanako, it isn’t as simple as that.

The singer is reminded of someone when she sees the first star of the night and she wants to use the star as a way to communicate to that person. It reminds me a lot of the song “Somewhere Out There” by James Ingram and Linda Ronstadt from the movie, An American Tail.

There’s a lot of interesting language used in this song, some that you don’t typically find in her other songs. What interesting lines do you see in this song? Let us know in the comments.

Thanks again, Daniel, for your hard work! I look forward to reading more of your translations.


Translation

They’re twinkling in the night sky, the beautiful stars
Will they shine upon the course of this love?
I’ll ride on a rocket and go see you
Beyond this age in which we were born

“Even if we’re separated it’ll be okay” you said, but cried at my side
I just can’t help but love that side of you

When I find the first star of the night, I remember the day we met
Surely you were the one I was searching for
That star, to me, cries easily but quickly smiles again
“It’s you”, I’ll tell you across the night sky

Beyond this sky, there are invisible stars
Will they keep shining across millions of lightyears?
So I won’t get lost in all that I see in my eyes
I’ll only search for my light and show it to you

Since I know sadness, I can become kinder
“You’re not just acting tough”, you said to me

When I find the first star of the night, I want to show you right away
No matter where you are, you can see it
That star, to me, is competitive and quick to fight
“It’s you”, I’ll tell you across the night sky

There’s a magic to your voice
On lonely nights, I want to see you, to hear your voice
Whether we love or are loved, there’s something we don’t find
But right now you’re here, I’ll tell you with that star that I’m here too

When I find the first star of the night, I remember the day we met
Surely you were the one I was searching for
That star, to me, cries easily but quickly smiles again
“It’s you”, I’ll tell you across the night sky

Translation by Daniel

4 thoughts on “Translation for Ichibanboshi / 一番星

  1. First star is the planet Venus, seen in the early evening. The brightest star is Sirius best appreciated in the hot days of late summer. If I could only get Professor Neil DeGrasse Tyson to analyze this song.

  2. Just to point out, in the opinion of a certain Japanese-Chinese translator, 一番星 means “brightest star” rather than “first star”. Other than that, there are no big differences between Daniel’s work and my Chinese translation source.

    • Ah, that’s interesting. To my knowledge, 一番 means “first”, but it’s usually followed by a qualifier to specify how it’s first. In this case, “first star”, but it doesn’t specify how it’s first, so I suppose it could be “first appearing star” or “first brightest star”, or possibly anything else.

  3. Pingback: Ichibanboshi / 一番星 | Thoughts on Oku Hanako

What are your thoughts on Oku Hanako?

