Translation for TAKOYAKI

TAKOYAKI: “Fried Octopus Balls”

Time to start posting all those translations I’ve neglected to post in the past few months.

Today we have a translation for TAKOYAKI by Edward from the official Chinese translation. Edward also includes a translation for the self-liner notes included in the album for the song.

I had noted in my post that it was a cute song, and in many ways it still is. What I didn’t sense was the longing. Until I read Edward’s translation I had thought it might have been about celebrating something by making or eating takoyaki. It seems I was mistaken. It’s about a couple who haven’t spent much quality time together and the singer expressing her wish for her partner to make takoyaki so that they would spend more quality time.


Lyrics

Translation

I want to eat takoyaki; you will make it for me
I want to eat takoyaki; make it with pride

“Today I will be working late again”, you said on the telephone
Lately, we don’t even have time to have proper conversations
It was for our sake that I started working
But it meaningless, we seem to just go past each other all the time

Cleaning, laundry, cooking, everything … you don’t do any of it
Occasionally you bring out the takoyaki pan and meticulously make takoyaki for me
That makes me really happy

I want to eat takoyaki; you will make it for me
I want to eat takoyaki; make it with pride

For our next holiday, I want us to go out together
To buy a new tablecloth

Immediately after saying “I’m home”, you opened a can of beer
You left your clothes in a mess after stripping them off; I followed you to pick them up
Living every day like this might be okay

I want to eat takoyaki; you will make it for me
As I say things like “Another one! Delicious!”
I want to eat takoyaki; you will make it for me
I want to eat takoyaki; make it with pride

Translation by Edward

3 thoughts on “Translation for TAKOYAKI

  1. On the DVD of her 2012 concert, she comes out on stage playing that kazoo-with-a-keyboard thing, and does kind of a pied piper dance to it. (Just watched it again yesterday.)

    You would forget all about Ian Anderson’s aqualung.

What are your thoughts on Oku Hanako?

