MOTHER [96neko / 96猫]

MOTHER

Happy Mother’s Day to all the mothers out there!

Todays song, MOTHER, is not actually sung by Oku Hanako. It is a collaboration with utaite 96neko / 96猫 (pronounced “kuro neko” for the same reason that Oku Hanako uses 09875). 96neko did the vocals, Oku Hanako composed the music, and they both worked on the lyrics. It was released as the last track on 96neko’s 2013 album, Iris.

Oku Hanako with 96neko

Oku Hanako with 96neko

I’m not sure where I read this, but I remember reading that this song is autobiographic; that is, these are 96neko’s words to her mother. The music video, illustrated the same person who did the video for Hanabi / 花火, Mogelatte / モゲラッタ, shows a girl who is very likely to be 96neko.


[Eng Sub] MOTHER [96neko] by Coleena Wu [YouTube]

It’s a very beautiful and very real song. The words express the intention very clearly and the singing and accompaniment capture the emotion quite well. I can’t be sure, but I’d like to believe that Oku Hanako was the one playing the piano. In any case, the two make an amazing pair and I would love to hear them do another song together.

Be sure to tell your mother “I love you” this Mother’s Day!


Lyrics

Roumaji

Gomen ne sunao ni narenakute
Daisuki da yo nante ietara ii noni na
Arigatou watashi wo unde kurete
Anata no kodomo ni umarete shiawase desu

Mainichi osoku made anata wa hataraki nagara
Watashi wo koko made hitori de sodatete kureta
Donna ni tsukaretete mo yowane hitotsu hakazu ni
Itsudemo hohoemi tsudzukete kuremashita

Sasai na koto de kenka shite sugu ni ie wo tobidashite
Anata no kanashii kao ga wasurerarenakute
Genkan no DOA wo akeru to itsumo no yuuhan no nioi ga
Watashi wo yasashiku tsutsunde kureta ne

Gomen ne sunao ni narenakute
“Okaeri” no koe ni dore dake tasukerareta darou
Arigatou watashi wo unde kurete
Anata no kodomo ni umarete shiawase desu

Osanai koro hashaide koronde naita toki
Atama wo nadete kureta anata no atatakai te
Itsunomanika anata wa chiisaku natteita
Kondo wa watashi ga anata wo mamoreru kana

Itsudemo mikata de ite kurete nandomo hagemashite kurete
Dore dake no yasashisa moratte kita darou
Hajimete yume uchiaketa toki anata wa nanimo iwazu ni
Watashi no senaka wo oshite kureta ne

Gomen ne sunao ni narenakute
Daisuki da yo nante ietara ii noni na
Arigatou watashi wo unde kurete
Anata no kodomo ni umarete shiawase desu

Arigatou anata ga ite kurete
Watashi ga watashirashiku irareta kara
Arigatou watashi wo unde kurete
Anata ni ima sugu tsutaetai kanshitemasu

Gomen ne sunao ni narenakute
Daisuki da yo nante ietara ii noni na
Arigatou watashi wo unde kurete
Anata no kodomo ni umarete shiawase desu

Anata no musume de yokatta arigatou

Transliteration by kazabana

Japanese

ごめんね 素直になれなくて 大好きだよなんて言えたらいいのにな
ありがとう 私を産んでくれて あなたの子供に生まれて 幸せです

毎日遅くまで あなたは働きながら 私をここまで一人で育ててくれた
どんなに疲れてても 弱音一つ吐かずに いつでも微笑み続けてくれました

些細な事で喧嘩して すぐに家を飛び出して
あなたの悲しい顔が忘れられなくて
玄関のドアを開けると いつもの夕飯の匂いが 私を優しく包んでくれたね

ごめんね 素直になれなくて 「お帰り」の声にどれだけ 助けられただろう
ありがとう 私を産んでくれて あなたの子供に生まれて 幸せです

幼い頃 はしゃいで転んで泣いた時 頭を撫でてくれた あなたの温かい手
いつの間にか あなたは小さくなっていた 今度は私が あなたを守れるかな

いつでも味方でいてくれた 何度も励ましてくれてた
どれだけの優しさ もらってきただろう
初めて夢打ち明けた時 あなたは何も言わずに 私の背中を押してくれたね

ごめんね 素直になれなくて 大好きだよなんて言えたらいいのにな
ありがとう 私を産んでくれて あなたの子供に生まれて幸せです

ありがとう あなたがいてくれて 私が私らしくいられたから
ありがとう 私を産んでくれて あなたに今すぐ伝えたい 感謝してます

ごめんね 素直になれなくて 大好きだよなんて言えたらいいのにな
ありがとう 私を産んでくれて あなたの子供に生まれて幸せです
あなたの娘でよかった ありがとう

From okuhanako.net

Translation

I’m sorry for being unable to be honest about my feelings
If only I could say “I love you”
Thank you for giving birth to me
I’m happy I was born as your child

Working until late at night every day,
You raised me by yourself up until now
No matter how tired you were, you never complained,
and always kept on smiling for me

When we had fought over trivial things, I immediately ran out of the house
I won’t forget that sad look on your face
When I opened the front door, the usual aroma of dinner
Gently enveloped me

I’m sorry for being unable to be honest about my feelings
I wonder how much your voice saying “Welcome home” has saved me
Thank you for giving birth to me
I’m happy I was born as your child.

Back when I was young, when I played around, fell down, and cried
Your warm hand would stroke my head
Before I knew it, you were becoming smaller than me
Will I be able to be the one to protect you this time?

You always supported me, encouraging me countless times
I wonder just how much kindness I received from you
The first time I confided in you about my dreams, you said nothing,
And simply pressed a hand to my back

I’m sorry for being unable to be honest about my feelings
If only I could say “I love you”
Thank you for giving birth to me
I’m happy I was born as your child

Thank you for being there for me
Because of that, I could be myself
Thank you for giving birth to me
I want to tell you right now, I’m so grateful to you

I’m sorry for being unable to be honest about my feelings
If only I could say “I love you”
Thank you for giving birth to me
I’m happy I was born as your child

I’m glad that I’m your daughter
Thank you

Based on translations by Coleena Wu+LaXnyd, kazabana and Renna

3 thoughts on “MOTHER [96neko / 96猫]

  1. Pingback: Fan-translated and instrumental covers of Kawaranai Mono / 変わらないもの | Thoughts on Oku Hanako

What are your thoughts on Oku Hanako?

