Mikazuki / 三日月

Mikazuki / 三日月: “Crescent Moon”. This will sometimes be romanized as “mikadzuki” as tsuki / つき / 月 becomes (d)zuki / づき because of rendaku.

Oku Hanako appeared with Ariyasu Momoka / 有安杏果 (Momoiro Clover Z’s green member) on the October 17, 2015 episode of Atashi no Ongaku / あたしの音楽 (“My Music”)[jp]. Together, with Oku-san on the piano, they sang a duet cover of Ayaka‘s Mikazuki.


有安杏果 × 奥華子 ♪三日月(カバー)音源のみ ももかコラボ by EBIZORI KANAKO [YouTube]

It’s very beautiful! I actually prefer this to the original. They’re both strong singers and they complement each other.

It reminds me a little of something she might have done in her early years. Comparing this with her early works, though, I can hear that Oku Hanako has definitely grown in her singing abilities. Back then, she would not have been able to hit that high note in the chorus so cleanly. She also wouldn’t have added the vibrato present in a few places.

This song is a nice break from her most recent works. There was always something appealing in the simplicity of a lone piano and I hope she does more of it.

Here’s a recording of their performance:

ももか&奥華子 『三日月』 by papasan46 [DailyMotion]

Here’s the original by Ayaka:


mikazuki/crescent moon (romaji subs) MV – ayaka by さかぐちさいゆり [YouTube]

Charice made an English cover of the song with similar lyrics, so some “translations” may be the lyrics to the cover instead. The one I included is a translation of the Japanese.


Lyrics

Roumaji

Zutto issho ni ita futari de aruita ipponmichi
Futatsu ni wakarete betsubetsu no hou aruiteku

Samishisa de afureta kono mune kakaete
Ima ni mo nakidashisou na sora miagete
Anata wo omotta ah ah…

Kimi ga inai yoru datte
So no more cry mou nakanai yo
Ganbatte iru kara ne tte tsuyoku naru kara ne tte oh
Kimi mo mite iru darou
Kono kiesou na mikadzuki
Tsunagatte iru kara ne tte ai shiteru kara ne tte oh

Hiekitta te wo hitori de atatameru hibi
Kimi no nukumori koishikute koishikute

Dore dake denwa de suki to iwareta tte
Kimi ni orikakaru koto wa dekinai
Namida wo nugutte… Ah ah…

Kimi ga inai yoru datte
So no more cry mou nakanai yo
Ganbatte iru kara ne tte tsuyoku naru kara ne tte

Kondo itsu aerun darou sore made no denchi wa
Dakishimenagara itta anata no ai shiteru no hitokoto

Kimi ga inai yoru datte
So no more cry mou nakanai yo
Ganbatte iru kara ne tte tsuyoku naru kara ne tte oh
Kimi mo mite iru darou
Kono kiesou na mikadzuki
Tsunagatte iru kara ne tte ai shiteru kara ne tte oh

Mikadzuki ni te wo nobashita kimi ni todoke kono omoi
Transliteration by Cori

Japanese

ずっと一緒にいた 二人で歩いた一本道
二つに分かれて 別々の方歩いてく

寂しさで溢れたこの胸かかえて
今にも泣き出しそうな空見上げて
あなたを思った…

※君がいない夜だって
そう no more cry もう泣かないよ
がんばっているからねって 強くなるからねって
君も見ているだろう
この消えそうな三日月
つながっているからねって 愛してるからねって※

冷えきった手を一人で温める日々
君の温もり 恋しくて恋しくて

どれだけ電話で「好き」と言われたって
君によりかかる事はできない
涙をぬぐった…

君がいない夜だって
そう no more cry もう泣かないよ
がんばっているからねって 強くなるからねって

今度いつ会えるんだろう それまでの電池は
抱きしめながら言った あなたの愛してるの一言
From JpopAsia

Translation

The one road we always walked together
Splits in two and we go our separate ways

Clutching at my chest, overwhelmed with loneliness
Looking up at the sky still about to cry
I thought of you…

On these nights when you’re not here
So no more cry, I won’t cry anymore
“I’m trying my best”, “I’m getting stronger”
You’re looking at it too
The crescent moon that’s about to disappear
“We’re connected”, “I love you”

These days when I warm my freezing hands alone
I miss, I miss your warmth

No matter how often we said “I love you” on the phone
I can’t lean on you
I wiped away my tears…

On these nights when you’re not here
Yeah, no more cry, I won’t cry anymore
“I’m trying my best”, “I’m getting stronger”

When will we meet again? Hanging onto the battery of our time up to now
I said one thing: “I love you”

On these nights when you’re not here
So no more cry, I won’t cry anymore
“I’m trying my best”, “I’m getting stronger”
You’re looking at it too
The crescent moon that’s about to disappear
“We’re connected”, “I love you”
I reached out my hands to the crescent moon, let my love reach you
Translation by Kyoko Sagaki


Header image from Natalie

7 thoughts on “Mikazuki / 三日月

  1. This is a stellar duet, their voices are beautiful together and I have to agree with you, better than the original but then again I’m probably biased. I am having a little difficulty hearing the vibrato that you’re speaking of though, I haven’t noticed it at all and I’ve tried paying attention to it for several listens. I have to say though I don’t think she doesn’t normally sings at this high of a pitch as she does so several times in this piece which is probably the part I most enjoy about this. It almost feels like a culmination of her career, you can hear both her new and old voice. You hear her more recent progress as a singer coupled with what made her debut success and uniqueness; her rock solid vocals and the signature piano.

    • I wonder if it’s just reverberation I hear, but I hear some subtle ones at the end of the notes at 1:52 and 3:06 in the YouTube video (the end of “Hiekitta te wo hitori de atatameru hibi” and “Dakishimenagara itta anata no ai shiteru no hitokoto” respectively”).

      It almost feels like a culmination of her career, you can hear both her new and old voice. You hear her more recent progress as a singer coupled with what made her debut success and uniqueness; her rock solid vocals and the signature piano.

      I can agree. Sometimes I think her covers are actually a better indicator and expression of her typical talent than her originals because I feel she sometimes uses her own releases for experimentation.

      • No it’s not I don’t think, I hear it too now that you’ve pointed it out although it’s rather subtle and only lasts for a second or two at a time. I don’t really know of any covers she’s done for other songs other than the one or two that you’ve posted here but in this at least I have to agree with you; it definitely feels like she’s demonstrating more of her lyrical talent and prowess compared to her own releases.

      • For the benefit of anyone reading this comment, I tag posts that feature a cover with the “cover” tag. Additionally, you may also be interested in a discussion post I made (I think these ones are from around 2006-2009).
        Also, I forgot to mention it the first time, but nice pun on your first comment.

  2. The kanji breaks down literally to “third day moon”: mi / 三 (“three”), ka / 日 (“day”), tsuki / 月 (“moon”). Does anyone have any insight on how it becomes “crescent moon”?

    • My guess is that this is because the moon was used for defining the length of a month. You may know that the Kanji for month is 月. In the Chinese calendar, the new moon is used for marking the start or a month. So, three days after the start of a month, one would see a crescent moon.

      As an aside, the full moon always coincides with the 15th of a month on the Chinese calendar. That is why the moon is always big and round and bright for Mid-Autumn Festival, which is always held on the 15th of the 8th month of the Chinese calendar.

      • Ah, that must be it. I figured it must have been something like that, but I completely forgot about the lunar calendar. Thanks for the insight!

What are your thoughts on Oku Hanako?

