Koi Tsubomi (Piano Hikigatari) / 恋つぼみ(ピアノ弾き語り)

Koi Tsubomi (Piano Hikigatari) / 恋つぼみ(ピアノ弾き語り): “Love bud (solo piano)”

恋 / koi
“love”
tsubomi / つぼみ
蕾, “bud” (of a flower)

“Koi Tsubomi” is Oku Hanako’s third single. The song was featured on NHK’s Minna no Uta program from February to March in 2006.

Like most of her singles, this song comes in an arranged and a hikigatari version. I prefer the hikigatari version and that’s the version that was featured on Minna no Uta, so I wanted to post that version first.

Below is the animated video shown on Minna no Uta, fansubbed by Mognet:


AMV portfolio – Jsme profesionálové II: Hanako Oku / Koi Tsubomi by amvportfolio

Given that it was February when the video was aired, and that there isn’t anything hinting that it was for Christmas, I think the idea that this video is an animated Christmas card is Mognet’s subbing liberty. However, I’m going to exploit that anyway. I hope you had a merry Christmas and will have a happy New Year!

Here’s the full song found on the single:


恋つぼみ(ピアノ弾き語り) (Koi Tsubomi – Piano Version) – Hanako Oku [zing.vn]

The Mognet translation only had what was in the short version. However, it was only a couple of lines that were missing, so I filled it in myself. If you have a better translation, leave it in the comments.

You’re just looking at the boat rolling in the waves, aren’t you?
That time tears fell was only my secret.

In the passing seasons,
I won’t forget you smiling, I won’t forget you.


Lyrics

Roumaji

Tooku e tabidatsu kimi wa yume dake wo ryoute ni kakaete
ugokidashita densha no mado kimi wa tada kirei datta

sayonara wa iwanai keredo
te wo furu kimi wo wasurenai yo wasure wa shinai yo

haru wo matte iru koi tsubomi itsuka hana wo sakasete
kimi wo omoishi hakanaki yume mune ni idakitsudukete

BŌTO ga yureru namima wo kimi wa tada nagameteita yo ne
ano toki ochita namida wa boku dake no himitsu datta

utsuriyuku kisetsu no naka de
waratta kimi wo wasurenai yo wasure wa shinai yo

kaze ni nagareru rusetsu na kokoro itsuka aeru toki made
suki to tsubuyaita kimi no koe ga ima mo tooku kikoeru

haru wo matte iru koi tsubomi itsuka hana wo sakasete
kimi wo omoishi hakanaki yume mune ni idakitsudukete

kimi wo omoishi hakanaki yume yagate saku koi tsubomi

Transliterated using the J-talk Kanji Converter

Japanese

遠くへ旅立つ君は 夢だけを両手に抱えて
動き出した電車の窓 君はただ綺麗だった

サヨナラは言わないけれど
手を振る君を忘れないよ 忘れはしないよ

春を待っている恋つぼみ いつか花を咲かせて
君を想いし儚き夢 胸に抱き続けて

ボートが揺れる波間を 君はただ眺めていたよね
あの時落ちた涙は 僕だけの秘密だった

移りゆく季節の中で
笑った君を忘れないよ 忘れはしないよ

風に流るるせつな心 いつか会える時まで
好きとつぶやいた君の声が 今も遠く聴こえる

春を待っている恋つぼみ いつか花を咲かせて
君を想いし儚き夢 胸に抱き続けて

君を想いし儚き夢 やがて咲く 恋つぼみ

From okuhanako.net

Translation

You, who are setting off on a journey to somewhere far away, carry only your dreams in your hands.
You were nothing but beautiful in the window of the train that had begun to move.

I don’t say goodbye to you but
I won’t forget you waving at me, I won’t forget you.

A bud of love is waiting until spring. One day I’ll make it bloom into a flower.
Thinking of you, I’ll continue to hold my fleeting dreams in my heart.

You’re just looking at the boat rolling in the waves, aren’t you?
That time tears fell was only my secret.

In the passing seasons,
I won’t forget you smiling, I won’t forget you.

My heart will be sad and flowing in the wind, until that day that we can meet again.
I can still hear your voice whispering “I love you”, even now.

A bud of love is waiting until spring. One day I’ll make it bloom into a flower.
Thinking of you, I’ll continue to hold my fleeting dreams in my heart.

Thinking of you, my fleeting dreams will finally bloom, a bud of love.

Based on a translation by Mognet with additions by tPenguinLTG

6 thoughts on “Koi Tsubomi (Piano Hikigatari) / 恋つぼみ(ピアノ弾き語り)

  1. There’s nothing in particular that stands out about this piece but I think it’s this sort of thing that’s the staple of her works. It’s just all in all quite pleasant to listen to and I’m not quite sure how to describe how her voice sounds here other than to point out that it sounds just like her; I can’t say I’ve heard a voice similar to hers but maybe I just haven’t heard enough.

      • Well I’ve once tried to search for some words that I could use to describe her works as a whole but nothing seemed to fit. I honestly wouldn’t know how to describe her if I had to recommend her to someone. In fact the most accurate I think I’ve seen was someone paralleling her relationship to Japanese pop as what Ghibli Studio is to anime.

      • That’s an interesting way to put it, and it does fit. I’ll have to remember that.

        If you can’t find the words, which song do you think best represents her works as a whole?

      • Looks like it was definitely you. I don’t think there’s a single song that can represent the entirety of her career but if I had to pick one I think it would be Kusabi, the song that originally got me listening to her. There seems to be certain phases to her career where she tries new things but they aren’t without her classic piano ballads which are regularly released over the years. Barring her more recent releases at least.

What are your thoughts on Oku Hanako?

