Translation for Boku no Christmas / 僕のクリスマス

Boku no Christmas / 僕のクリスマス: “My Christmas”

This was a (pleasantly) simple one to translate! Actually, what really helped me get the true meaning of the Japanese lyrics was—surprise—the Spanish translation! Different languages help to convey nuances that other languages might miss… which I find really cool. 😀

I hope everyone has a safe and warm Christmas!


Lyrics

Translation

Spending it alone again this year, Christmas day has finally come around
In a photo where the whole town is in red and green, I am the only one in black and white

But that’s okay
I’m sure that a cute angel will come around to me too

Merry Christmas to everyone
A beautiful Merry Christmas
If I smile, then even to me it will be a Merry Christmas

Lovers today are spreading special kinds of happy smiles

To me now, it’s all too cruel
But today is a day of happiness

Merry Christmas to everyone
A beautiful Merry Christmas
If I sing, then even to me it will be a Merry Christmas

Even I, someday, want to become Santa and grant everyone’s wishes

Merry Christmas to everyone
A beautiful Merry Christmas
If you smile, then whenever it may be, it will be a Merry Christmas
Merry Christmas to everyone
A beautiful Merry Christmas
If I smile, then even to me it will be a Merry Christmas

Translation by Rosanne

2 thoughts on “Translation for Boku no Christmas / 僕のクリスマス

  1. Thanks for the translation, Rosanne! The lyrics kind of reminds me a little of Taiga in “Toradora!

    I find this line especially interesting:

    In a photo where the whole town is in red and green, I am the only one in black and white

    I should come to expect these kinds of lines from Oku-san.

    I hope you had a merry Christmas, and may you have a happy New Year.

  2. Pingback: Boku no Christmas / 僕のクリスマス | Thoughts on Oku Hanako

What are your thoughts on Oku Hanako?

