Hanabi / 花火 (2015)

Hanabi / 花火: “fireworks”

This year, Oku Hanako released a re-recorded version of her indies single, “Hanabi”, in honour of her 10th anniversary as a major artist. This brings “Hanabi” up to three versions: the original hikigatari version, the arranged version, and this one. Not counting live versions, the only other song that I can think of that has this many versions is Chiisana Hoshi / 小さな星.

To accompany the re-recording, Mogelatte / モゲラッタ (HoneyWorks) made the official music video for the song.


花火 / 奥華子 by ponycanyon [YouTube]

The music video is nice to look at and it helps visualize the song’s meaning. I find it interesting how it combines traditional watercolour drawings with computer-made effects. It makes the video seem like it’s in 3D space, but at the same time, it still retains that 2D feel. What stood out for me were the numerous fireworks (for obvious reasons) and how the two met up in yukata (as is customary for watching fireworks, but it stood out for me because of Rosanne’s translation notes).

How does this version compare to the original hikigatari and arranged versions? I would describe this as the hikigatari version with strings. It retains the basic feel of that version and fills in the “gaps” with extra instruments. As expected, Oku Hanako restricts herself a little more with her more “cutesy” voice, but it’s not as striking as it was for the new version of Gekkou / 月光 and I don’t think it’s detrimental at all to the song.

To those who like the hikigatari the best, the arrangement may be somewhat distracting. While I think that some of the arrangement could be toned down a bit (e.g. some strings parts could be less fancy), I think the arrangement carries the emotion well and provides some really nice counter-melodies. However, I will agree that I think the emotion was best expressed in the hikigatari version. Perhaps the best example to highlight the difference is the part coming out of the interlude and into the last stanza.

Overall, I think it’s a very nice version and I’ll continue to enjoy it alongside the others.


Lyrics

Roumaji

Kimi ni koishita natsu no hi
nami on kikoeru kaerimichi hajimete kisu wo shita ne
itsumo yakusoku shiteta ne
mayonaka ni sotto nukedashite futari no hoshi sagashita

suna ni kaita ano hi no rakugaki
ima mo mune no naka kie nakute

natsu no yozora ni miageta hanabi itai hodo mune ni yakitsuita
kimi wa nan do mo senobi wo shi nagara todoki sou da ne to waratta ne
kimi no namida mo boku no yowa sa mo onaji mirai wo shinjite ita
boku wa koboreochi sou na omoi wo yozora ni kakushite ta

motto yasashiku deki tara mayowa zu ni i tara
tooku made kimi wo tsuredase ta no ka na

machiawase yukata sugata no kimi
terekusakute nani mo ie nakatta

natsu no yozora ni miageta hanabi itai hodo mune ni yakitsuita
butsukariau hitonami wakete futari dake no basho wo sagashita ne
toorisugite ku kaze no mukou ni kotae ga aru to shinjite ita
tsunai da te ga hodoke nai you ni tsuyoku nigirishimete ta

kimi ga suki da yo kimi ga suki da yo todoka nai koe de saken de ita
natsu no yozora ni miageta hanabi itai hodo mune ni yakitsuita
toorisugite ku kaze no mukou ni kotae ga aru to shinjite ita
boku wa koboreochi sou na omoi wo tsuyoku dakishimeteta

kimi ga ita natsu no hi

Transliterated using the J-talk Kanji Converter

Japanese

君に恋した 夏の日
波音聞こえる帰り道 初めてキスをしたね
いつも約束してたね
真夜中にそっと抜け出して ふたりの星探した

砂に書いたあの日の落書き
今も胸の中消えなくて

夏の夜空に見上げた花火 痛いほど胸に焼き付いた
君は何度も背伸びをしながら 届きそうだねと笑ったね
君の涙も 僕の弱さも 同じ未来を信じていた
僕は零れ落ちそうな思いを 夜空に隠してた

もっと優しくできたら 迷わずにいたら
遠くまで君を連れ出せたのかな

待ち合わせ 浴衣姿の君
照れくさくて何も言えなかった

夏の夜空に見上げた花火 痛いほど胸に焼き付いた
ぶつかり合う人波分けて 二人だけの場所を探したね
通り過ぎてく 風の向こうに 答えがあると信じていた
繋いだ手がほどけないように 強く握り締めてた

君が好きだよ 君が好きだよ 届かない声で叫んでいた
夏の夜空に見上げた花火 痛いほど胸に焼き付いた
通り過ぎてく 風の向こうに 答えがあると信じていた
僕は零れ落ちそうな思いを 強く抱き締めてた

君がいた夏の日

From okuhanako.net

Translation

The summer’s day I fell in love with you,
Hearing the sound of ocean waves on the way home
That was the first time we kissed, wasn’t it?
We were always making promises to each other
Quietly sneaking out in the middle of the night, we searched for stars together

That day’s scribbles written on the sand
Still haven’t vanished from my heart, even now

The fireworks we saw as we looked up at the summer night sky
Burned in my heart until it hurt
You tried to reach for them on tiptoe countless times, and laughed
With your tears, and my weakness—I believed we would have the same future
I hid away into the night sky the feelings that threatened to spill out

If I had been more affectionate,
If I hadn’t been hesitant,
Would I have been able to take you far away?

We met up, you clad in a yukata
But in my awkwardness, I was unable to say anything

The fireworks we saw as we looked up at the summer night sky
Burned in my heart until it hurt
Colliding with a surging crowd and trying to cut through,
We were looking for a place to be alone by ourselves
I believed that the answer was on the other side of the passing breeze
I gripped your hand tightly so that our interlocked hands wouldn’t break apart

I love you,
I love you!
I shouted it out but my voice didn’t carry
The fireworks we saw as we looked up at the summer night sky
Burned in my heart until it hurt
I believed that the answer was on the other side of the passing breeze
I clung on tightly to the feelings that threatened to spill out

The summer’s day you were there

Translation by Rosanne

One thought on “Hanabi / 花火 (2015)

What are your thoughts on Oku Hanako?

