Translation for Tomoshibi / 灯ーともしびー

Tomoshibi / 灯: “light”, “lamp”, or “lamp light”; possibly also referring to the light source. The pronunciation is given in hiragana (ともしび) because 灯 can be read in multiple ways.

Here we have another translation from Edward, this time of Tomoshibi / 灯. He actually posted this about a month ago, but as evident in my lack of recent posts, I hadn’t gotten the chance until now to share it. As always, I highly recommend you read his translation notes in his post.

Even with such a clear translation, I still have no idea what this song is about. Anyone with any insights, please do leave a comment and share.


Translation

Perhaps it was something insignificant
But what you said has always encouraged me

When I was close to losing faith in people
You were the one who lit a light in my heart

I was anxious for success but my efforts were fruitless
“I know you are working hard”
That was what you said to me

People cross paths; people remember meeting and can cry for the ones they met
A feeling of love is for people to use to connect with one another
People are born in this world to live, aren’t they?

I once wanted strength to never lose to anyone
I thought having strength to overcome myself would let me protect someone

I realised you were always protecting me
So next time I want to kindle an everlasting light at your side

People laugh; people worry about others and can be moved to tears by someone’s voice
A feeling of love is for people to use to connect with one another
People are born to live in this world and someday they will die, won’t they?

People cross paths; people remember meeting and can cry for the ones they met
A feeling of love is for you to use to connect with someone
People are born in this world to live, aren’t they?
Translation by Edward

One thought on “Translation for Tomoshibi / 灯ーともしびー

  1. I really like the song and for me it is all about support from and to other people.

What are your thoughts on Oku Hanako?

