What’s the song on the 10th anniversary pop-up?

If you go to Oku Hanako’s official site, you’ll be greeted with a pop-up message:

10th-popup

There’s a music score in the background, and being the musical guy I am, I just had to figure out what it is. You can probably guess, but after playing through it in my head, I concluded that it’s a snippet of Kusabi / 楔, specifically the end of the pre-chorus until a little after the end of the chorus (the chorus starts at [C]).

No wonder I haven’t been able to work out the chords by ear. I knew the chords, which are written above the staves, were somewhat complex, but I didn’t think they were to this degree. You have major chords, minor chords, slash chords, sus4, add9 (both major and minor), and even some combinations of them. Don’t worry if you understood nothing in this paragraph: just know that it’s appreciatively complex.

4 thoughts on “What’s the song on the 10th anniversary pop-up?

  1. This is nice, I’m not sure what to think of her upcoming single though. While Kusabi was the piece that got me into her, her more recent works have been losing something that her older ones had. This isn’t to say that her recent albums are bad, just different than before so I’m not sure what to expect of this release.

    • I agree. I think at least some if it is because she’s moving away from the simpleness of the hikigatari. It’s no longer just her and her piano, and some would say that it’s distracting. Hikigatari lets you focus on the core of the song. There’s also the indies feel of the older songs, too, and it tends to grab you more.
      We’ll see how it turns out in the next album, although if Kimi to Boku no Michi was any indication, I don’t think we’ll be getting the 2006 feel back.

      • You do have a point, there has been a lack of hikigatari pieces in her recent releases. I have to say I did like them though, her voice was startlingly pleasing to the ear when I first discovered her and I can’t help but feel that some of the more recent arrangements detract attention from it although I have yet to listen to her most recent release. To me it seems as if she’s in a transitional phase between her past works and attempting something new for whatever reason, perhaps a new chapter in her life or she simply decided it was time for some change; I’m sure that I’ll be able to continue to enjoy her work where ever she takes it and hopefully everyone else does too. Whatever the case I hope she’ll find her footing if she hasn’t already and that we can look forward to her continued success and subsequent releases.

  2. Good that you would be able to figure out the song from the sheet music it would be lost on me. Good work on that. I never buy the written form ever since the time I bought the sheet music for George and Ira Gershwin’s “Let’s Call the Whole Thing Off”.

    The lyrics say “You say potato, I say potato … you say tomato, I say tomato …”
    I don’t get it.

What are your thoughts on Oku Hanako?

