“Ai wo Mitsuketa Basho” played in Hibike! Euphonium

At the end of the latest episode (ep. 8) of the ongoing anime “Hibike! Euphonium” / 響け!ユーフォニアム, two of the characters, Kumiko and Reina, played Oku Hanako’s Ai wo Mitsuketa Basho / 愛を見つけた場所:


Hibike! Euphonium HD Sound- Last Song EPISODE 8 by TheAnime Uploads

It’s refreshing to hear a brass cover, and the playing is done quite well, too. I think it captures the song’s beauty fairly well, even for just a euphonium and a trumpet.

I haven’t actually watched the series yet and wasn’t really planning to, but who knows, maybe this is enough to give me an excuse to watch it; either way, I’d wait until the series is done. (EDIT: I finished the first season on January 21, 2016) Anyway, I didn’t find out about this from watching the series, but rather as a result of a big spike in this site’s page views in the last couple of days:

Stats for pltgokuhanako as of 2015-05-28 22:26

Spike in views in the last couple of days

I did a little investigating and found out that the source of the majority of these views was a post by Eliana (glassdestroyer) on Tumblr and its numerous reblogs, so a special thanks goes out to Eliana! I fixed up the post a bit, most notably replaced the broken video, because this is probably going to be the bulk of the traffic for the next week.

Incidentally, you all set a new record of 201 page views on the 27th. Congratulations, and thank you!

4 thoughts on ““Ai wo Mitsuketa Basho” played in Hibike! Euphonium

  1. Pingback: Ai wo Mitsuketa Basho / 愛を見つけた場所 | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  2. Thank you for hosting this website! I had no idea about this person’s work until watching Hibiki! Euphonium on Crunchyroll. Once I heard the song I wanted to purchase it. I still can’t tell where to buy it but love that she has such a dedicated fan. The few songs I’ve heard so far are hauntingly beautiful. Thank you for sharing so much vital info about this talented person!

    • You’re very welcome! Oku Hanako is quite the talent. I post a song here roughly once a week, so please do come again.
      As for where to buy it, I’m not sure if you can get it individually, but you can get the album. It appeared on disc 2 of her her 2012 collection album “Oku Hanako BEST -My Letters-“. Not only do you get the song, but you get some of her best works, too.
      I hear most of the fans here get their CDs from Amazon.

  3. Nice find. I would like to see this anime sometime. I have to look up if Crunchroll or Netflix might have it. The song is a nice moment in the show. It is nice to see another Hanako Oku reference in anime.

    Just between you and me: I had a look at that lady’s Tumblr page … it is otherwise pretty crazy …. but not in the good or funny way …
    … very creep-ed out right now … don’t make eye contact … keep going …

What are your thoughts on Oku Hanako?

