Toshiue no Kare / 年上の彼

Toshiue no Kare / 年上の彼: “older guy”

toshiue / 年上
An older person; “senior”
no / の
A particle indicating identity
kare / 彼
“he”; “boyfriend”

This song is definitely one of her more mainstream-sounding songs. It’s the second track on her 2012 album, “good-bye”, which contained other songs that could be described as more mainstream. Having said that, even if you much prefer her hikigatari works, I still recommend listening to the whole thing at least once.


年上の彼 [music.163.com]

Her vocals are pretty strong, and the arrangement, if you can take it, is actually fairly well done.

However, as you might expect with it being mainstream-sounding and all, I didn’t like it much at first. I don’t think I ended up appreciating it until about a year and a half after I first heard the song. I woke up one morning with the song in my head, even though I hadn’t heard it for months. It happens sometimes: I wake up with a song in my head that I previously didn’t like, and from that day on, I find an appreciation for it and end up really enjoying it.

As for the meaning of the lyrics, I have no idea. The machine translation is too garbled for me to make anything out of it without too much effort. We’ll have to get someone to translate them sometime.


Lyrics

Roumaji

Kinareta suutsu ni muzukashii shorui tsumekonda kaban kakaete
Osake no tanomikata jibun ni niau fuku shitte iru toshiue no kare

Sukoshi mae aruku ooki na anata no ude ni burasagaru you ni
Senobishite oshare shite soredemo mada todokanai toshiue no kare

Donna toki mo reisei na anata to wa kenka mo dekizu ni
Fukanzennenshou shita mama kimochi wa itsumo karamawari

Yatto watashi mo ano koro no anata no toshi ni narimashita
Itsumade tatte mo oitsukenai oikosenakatta no
Kitto ano koro no watashi ga umerarenakatta mono wa
Nanatsu no toshi no sa ja nakute aita kokoro no naka

Tanjoubi mo mada oboteru kurai anata wa watashi ni totte
Tokubetsu na hito yo ima mo mukashi mo kawaranai toshiue no kare

Shigoto no tsukare mo nayami mo yowami mo watashi ni misete kurenai ne
Futekusarete iru watashi no yoko de waratte ita toshiue no kare

Moshi anata wo mikaketara mayowazu ni koe kakerareru kana ?
Sukoshi wa otona ni natta to omotte moraeru no kana ?

Yatto watashi mo ano koro no anata no toshi ni narimashita
Itsumo made tatte mo oitsukenai oikosenakatta no
Zettaiteki ni kanawanai osaifu mo chishiki mo keiken mo
Watashi no hou ga ookatta no wa suki da to iu kimochi

Yatto watashi mo ano koro no anata no toshi ni narimashita
Itsumade tatte mo oitsukenai oikosenakatta no
Kitto ano koro no watashi ga umerarenakatta mono wa
Nanatsu no toshi no sa ja nakute aita kokoro no naka
Watashi no hou ga ookatta no wa suki da to iu kimochi

From JpopAsia

Japanese

着慣れたスーツに 難しい書類 詰め込んだ鞄抱えて
お酒の頼み方 自分に似合う服知っている 年上の彼

少し前歩く 大きなあなたの腕に ぶら下がるように
背伸びして オシャレして それでもまだ届かない 年上の彼

どんな時も 冷静なあなたとは 喧嘩もできずに
不完全燃焼したまま 気持ちはいつも空回り

やっと私も あの頃の あなたの歳になりました
いつまでたっても 追いつけない 追い越せなかったの
きっとあの頃私が 埋められなかったものは
7つの年の差じゃなくて 空いた心の中

誕生日もまだ覚えてるくらい あなたは私にとって
特別な人よ 今も昔も 変わらない 年上の彼

仕事の疲れも 悩みも弱みも 私に見せてくれないね
ふてくされている 私の横で笑っていた 年上の彼

もしあなたを見かけたら 迷わずに声をかけられるかな?
少しは大人になったと 思ってもらえるのかな?

やっと私も あの頃の あなたの歳になりました
いつまでたっても 追いつけない 追い越せなかったの
絶対的にかなわない お財布も知識も経験も
私の方が多かったのは 好きだという気持ち

やっと私も あの頃の あなたの歳になりました
いつまでたっても 追いつけない 追い越せなかったの
きっとあの頃私が 埋められなかったものは
7つの年の差じゃなくて 空いた心の中
私の方が多かったのは 好きだという気持ち

From okuhanako.net

4 thoughts on “Toshiue no Kare / 年上の彼

  1. Pingback: Time Card / タイムカード | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  2. Yes, these “older boyfriends” still have a lot of life in them.

    I love this one. It is one of my favorites on Goodbye. I like it because it IS different. If that is the musical direction that TLGO wanted to go, it is fine with me.

    It might be one of her songs that raises the question: What if Stevie Wonder had been born as a little Japanese woman?

  3. This song received 2 out of 5 stars in my library. I wasn’t even aware of it at all, as such low rated songs appear very rarely in my playlists. I still believe this is far too mainstream to catch my attention. But as you said – sometimes this can change unexpectedly …. 😉

  4. My sincere apologies. I completely forgot it was the weekend last weekend and didn’t think to make a post then, and I haven’t had the chance to write the post until now. Don’t worry, there will be a post for this week, too.

What are your thoughts on Oku Hanako?

