Hotarubi / 蛍火

Hotarubi / 蛍火: “glow of fireflies”

hotaru / 蛍
“firefly”
hi / 火
“fire”. Pronounced “bi” / び because of rendaku.

“Hotarubi” is track 10 on Oku Hanako’s 2009 album “BIRTHDAY”. The first time I heard this song, I was in a dark room with not much more light than that from my laptop. That’s probably part of what contributes to my opinion here, but I think the feel of the song is very fitting to its title: dark, with a soft source of light.

A little warning, though: don’t listen to this song when you’re in the mood for something upbeat because you probably won’t appreciate it. Try listening to it before you go to bed.


蛍火 (Hotarubi) – Hanako Oku [zing.vn]


Lyrics

Roumaji

Natsu no yume koboreta hanabi aitakute aitakute owaranai koi

wazukana hikari anata wa itsumo watashi ni miserukara
donna toki demo massugu ni iyou to kokoro ni chikaimashita

suna wo atsumete tsukutta futari no shiro kiete iku toki
umarekawatte mouichido futari de sou negatte imasu

natsu no yume koboreta hanabi aitakute aitakute owaranai koi
hotarubi ni terasa reta michi tooku e tooku e anata wo sagashi teru

nagai yubisaki kawaita koe de anata wa hohoemukara
donna toki demo mayowazu ni iyou to kokoro ni chikaimashita

kaze wo atsumete suzu no oto narashite ita todoku you ni
ai wo motomete mouichido futari de sou negatte imasu

natsu no yume koboreta hanabi aitakute aitakute owaranai koi
setsuna kumo kie yuku sora e ano hi no omoide watashi no soba de
hotarubi ni terasa reta michi tooku e tooku e anata wo sagashi teru

Transliteration from zing.vn

Japanese

夏の夢 こぼれた花火 会いたくて 会いたくて 終わらない恋

僅かな光 あなたはいつも私に見せるから
どんな時でも 真っ直ぐにいようと 心に誓いました

砂を集めて作った 二人の城 消えて行くとき
生まれ変わって もう一度二人で そう願っています

夏の夢 こぼれた花火 会いたくて 会いたくて 終わらない恋
蛍火に照らされた道 遠くへ遠くへ あなたを探してる

長い指先 乾いた声で あなたは微笑むから
どんな時でも 迷わずにいようと 心に誓いました

風を集めて 鈴の音鳴らしていた 届くように

愛を求めて もう一度二人で そう願っています

夏の夢 こぼれた花火 会いたくて 会いたくて 終わらない恋
刹那雲 消えゆく空へ あの日の思い出 私のそばで
蛍火に照らされた道 遠くへ遠くへ あなたを探してる

From okuhanako.net

Translation

Summer dreams fall like fireworks, I miss it, I miss unending love.

Because you’ve always given me some light,
I crossed my heart that I would stay honest, anytime.

When the castles disappear, I collect more sand.
I hope we’ll be together once more, after I’m reborn.

Summer dreams fall like fireworks, I miss it, I miss unending love.
I’m searching for you far, far away on a path illuminated by firefly lights.

Because my worn fingertips made your voice laugh,
I crossed my heart that I wouldn’t get lost, anytime.

When the sound of bells ring, I collect more wind.
I hope we’ll be together once more, on a quest for love.

Summer dreams fall like fireworks, I miss it, I miss unending love.
My memories of that day instantly vanish into the cloudy sky.
I’m searching for you far, far away on a path illuminated by firefly lights.

Translation by pinknives


Fireflies photo by Rel Ohara

3 thoughts on “Hotarubi / 蛍火

  1. Pingback: New translation for Hotarubi / 蛍火 | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  2. I was never able to play this week’s song. I tried two different operating systems on two different computers this week, and it never worked. Nice photo though.

    I think the Radio Hanoi website may have had it removed.

    I made up for it however by listening to the “Birthday” album on my commute!

    • I seriously have got to start testing my code…
      That was an error on my part. It works now; thanks for letting me know.
      I also thought I had credited the image, but apparently not.

      Anyway, I haven’t put up this week’s song yet because I made a last-minute song change. It’ll be up today, hopefully.

What are your thoughts on Oku Hanako?

