Saishuu Densha / 最終電車

Saishuu Densha / 最終電車: “Last Train”

saishuu / 最終
“last”. sai- / 最: “most”; shuu / 終: “end”
densha / 電車
“electric train”. den / 電: “electric”; sha / 車: “vehicle”

I went on a three-day train ride last year and “Saishuu Densha” was the song that I thought of the most.

This song is the opening track of Oku Hanako’s 2008 album, Koi Tegami / 恋手紙, and it serves well as an opening track. It’s a love song with some sad undertones (typical of her) and its style is more or less representative of that of the album: soft and lightly arranged.

I’m a little confused about the lyrics. Everything seems consistent except for the first verse, the one about the number of emails and calls decreasing. From the lyrics, I get the impression that there’s a couple who are being separated temporarily (perhaps because of work, school, or a long-distance relationship) and the speaker, who I’m going to assume is female, does not want to be separated, even for a short while. The chorus implies that they’ll be reunited soon, but I find the first verse implies that they’re drifting further apart from each other. Perhaps this is just me and my inability to analyze poetry, but maybe one of you can offer an explanation.


奥華子_最終電車 [Nico Nico Douga]


Lyrics

Roumaji

Mata sugu ni aeru kedo samishikute shikatanai
chotto demo hanareru no ga kowakutte
saishuu densha no naka mado ni utsutta machi ni magirete sukoshi naiteta

Sakin futari no naka ga sukoshi kawattekita ne
denwa ya me-ru no nansu mo mae yori sukunakunatta

kami no iro kaetemo atarashii kutsu wo haitemo anata wa nani mo ittekurenaikedo
ookina te ni tsutsumaretari mujaki na yokogao wo mitari issho ni ireba sore de ii

mou sukoshi ato sukoshi kaeritakunai yo kyou mo kaisatsuguchi de te wo futta

Mata sugu ni aeru kedo samishikute shikatanai
chotto demo hanareru no ga kowakutte
saishuu densha no naka mado ni utsutta machi ni magirete sukoshi naiteta

kaban no naka de zutto motteiru manaa moodo no “oyasumi”
hontou wa ima sugu ni demo watashi kara okuritai kedo

surikawa ni tsukamatte TEEPU wo makimodoshitekureru you ni kyou no futari wo omoidashiteku
anata ga itta kotoba sono toki toki miseta hyoujou wo hitotsu hitotsu nazotteyuku

sakki made fureteita anata no nukumori mo douka ie ni tsuku made kienai de

tokidoki setsunaku naru itsudemo fuan ni naru
anata wo suki ni nareba naru hodo
saishuu densha no naka tobira ga hiraita toki mou ichido hashiridashita

Mata sugu ni aeru kedo samishikute shikatanai
chotto demo hanareru no ga kowakutte
saishuu densha no naka mado ni utsutta machi ni magirete sukoshi naiteta

Yappari kyou mo suki deshita

Transliteration by Tsukiokuhime

Japanese

またすぐに会えるけど 寂しくて仕方ない
ちょっとでも 離れるのが怖くて
最終電車の中 窓に映った街に紛れて 少し泣いてた

最近二人の仲が 少し変わってきたね
電話やメールの回数も 前より少なくなった

髪の色変えても 新しい靴を履いても あなたは何も言ってくれないけど
大きな手に包まれたり 無邪気な横顔を見たり 一緒にいればそれでいい
もう少し あと少し 帰りたくないよ 今日も改札口で 手を振った

またすぐに会えるけど 寂しくて仕方ない
ちょっとでも 離れるのが怖くて
最終電車の中 窓に映った街に紛れて 少し泣いてた

鞄の中でずっと待っている マナーモードの「オヤスミ」
本当は今すぐにでも 私から送りたいけど

吊革につかまって テープを巻き戻してくように 今日の二人を思い出してく
あなたが言った言葉 その時見せた表情を 一つ一つなぞってゆく
さっきまで触れていた あなたの温もり どうか家に着くまで 消えないで

時々切なくなる いつでも不安になる
あなたを好きになればなるほど
最終電車の中 扉が開いた時 もう一度 走り出してた

またすぐに会えるけど 寂しくて仕方ない
ちょっとでも 離れるのが怖くて
最終電車の中 窓に映った街に紛れて 少し泣いてた

やっぱり 今日も好きでした

From okuhanako.net

Translation

Even though we’re going to see each other soon, I can’t help but feel lonely
I’m scared of being separated from you
inside the last train, I cried a little while watching the wavering scenery

lately, something between us had changed
the amount of e-mails and calls are decreasing

even though I put on new shoes or changed my hair, you didn’t say anything, but
you embrace me with you bigger hands, looking at your sincere face, I think being together is enough

a little more, just a little more, I don’t want to go home, today, I bid you another goodbye at ticket pass

Even though we’re going to see each other soon, I can’t help but feel lonely
I’m scared of being separated from you
inside the last train, I cried a little while watching the wavering scenery

in my silenced phone inside my bag was a “good night”
that I always want to send to you immediately

my phone strap and the recording that I keep on replaying is reminding me of our day
the words you said, the facial expression you showed me, I trace them one by one

your warmth that had just touched me, please, I don’t want to lost it when I got home

sometimes I’m sad and always feel uneasy
the more I come to like you
within the last train, the moment the door is opened, I began to run again

Even though we’re going to see each other soon, I can’t help but feel lonely
I’m scared of being separated from you
inside the last train, I cried a little while watching the wavering scenery

After all, I like you too today.

Translation by Tsukiokuhime

4 thoughts on “Saishuu Densha / 最終電車

  1. Pingback: Meguriau Sekai / めぐり逢う世界 | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  2. Pingback: Shiroi Heart / 白いハート | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  3. Yes, the young woman in the song sounds like she needs to reassured. She needs someone to hold her close, and to tell her that even in the busiest of worlds, that she is the only thing that really matters. Despite the long-distance romance, reassure her that the distance is only temporary, and prove to her that a lifetime of love can be poured into just into a precious few hours.

    … and I know just the guy to do it. Come here you little firecracker.

What are your thoughts on Oku Hanako?

