Yuudachi / 夕立

Yuudachi / 夕立: “evening rain”

Ooh, one of my favourites! In fact, I think this is the song for which I completely let go of The Predicament, for which I removed any restriction with Peter Cetera songs.

I’m not going to say anything until after the song. Clear your mind and just listen:


【薄桜鬼MAD】 ~夕立~ 【藤堂平助】 by mana4708

It has a very clean and clear sound. She sings the strong melody very well and the introduction of the instrument voices is well timed. At first, I didn’t like how the bridge was low in energy, but after listening to it a few times, I realized that it was : the low energy is contrary to the expected, making the song more interesting to listen to. Besides, this is Oku Hanako, and it’s not unusual for her to do something unexpected. The song fades out and ends satisfyingly, yet it left me wanting more, in part because the song is shorter than average.

Funny, I recall not liking this song the first time I heard it and I avoided it for a few months. The issue was probably similar my first experience with Peter Cetera’s The End of Camelot: my sound was muted. If it wasn’t that, then I probably wasn’t in a mood to hear too many synth sounds, not that this song has too many of those. I’m glad this happened, though, because I’m sure I wouldn’t have such a deep appreciation for this song without it. After all, a struggle makes things more desirable, and I should know.

It’s brilliant! What makes it even more impressive is that this song was released on her first major release: her first single, Yasashii Hana / やさしい花 (2005; track 2). If I weren’t paying attention, I would think that this was released on Koi Tegami / 恋手紙 (2008).

Any louder and I think I’d blow my eardrums. *thud*


Lyrics

Roumaji

Itsu no ma ni ka deatte shimatta bokura wa
Taiyou sae mo mikata ni dekinai mama

Hachigatsu no hikaru umi wa futari ni ha mabushisugiru
futsuu no koibito ni doushite mo narenai kara

itsudatte bokutachi wa samayou kaze no you ni
hitasura ni aishiau basho wo sagashiteta
natsu no gogo yuudachi ga kimi wo saraisou de
sukoshi demo hanareteiru no ga kowakatta
hosoi ude, fureta kuchibiru, dakishimeteta

shinjiaeru hito wa hoka ni mo ita kedo
motomeaeru hito wa kimi shika inai to

massugu ni nobiteyuku natsukusa ga kaoru yoru wa
boku wa naze ka se wo mukete makesou ni natteshimau kedo

itsudatte bokutachi wa yureru nami no you ni
kurikaeshi onaji basho wo tada aruiteta
natsu no yume kimi dake ga kieteshimaisoiu de
sukoshi demo hanareteiru no ga kowakatta

itsudatte bokutachi wa samayou kaze no you ni
hitasura ni aishiau basho wo sagashiteta
natsu no gogo yuudachi ga kimi wo saraisou de
sukoshi demo hanareteiru no ga kowakatta
nagai kami, fureta karada wo dakishimeteta

Transliteration by Tsukiokuhime

Japanese

いつの間にか 出会ってしまった僕らは
太陽さえも 味方に出来ないまま

8月の光る海は 二人には眩しすぎる
普通の恋人に どうしても なれないから

いつだって僕たちは 彷徨う風のように
ひたすらに愛し合う場所を探してた
夏の午後 夕立が君をさらいそうで
少しでも離れているのが怖かった
細い腕 濡れた唇 抱き締めてた

信じ合える人は 他にもいたけど
求め合える人は 君しかいないと

真っ直ぐに伸びてゆく 夏草が香る夜は
僕はなぜか背を向けて 負けそうになってしまうけど

いつだって僕たちは 揺れる波のように
繰り返し 同じ場所をただ歩いてた
夏の夢 君だけが 消えてしまいそうで
少しでも離れているのが怖かった

いつだって僕たちは 彷徨う風のように
ひたすらに愛し合う場所を探してた
夏の午後 夕立が君をさらいそうで
少しでも離れているのが怖かった
長い髪 濡れた体を 抱き締めてた

From okuhanako.net

Translation

one day, we happened to meet
when the sun doesn’t even shine

the brilliant sea of August is too dazzling for us
because no matter how, we cannot act like normal couple

we’re always like roaming wind
determinedly looking for a place to love each other
the summer’s afternoon rain seems to take you away
even though only for a while, I’m scared of being separated from you
our lips met, and we embraced each other

there’s another person that I can trust
but the only one that I want to seek for is you

the night when we smell the fragrance of vastly expanding summer grass
why do I feel like losng as I turn my back away?

we’re always like swaying wave
repeatly passing the same place
you seems to be the one who disappear from my summer dream
even though only for a while, I’m scared of being separated from you

we’re always like roaming wind
determinedly looking for a place to love each other
the summer’s afternoon rain seems to take you away
even though only for a while, I’m scared of being separated from you
then we tightly embraced each other

Translation by Tsukiokuhime

One thought on “Yuudachi / 夕立

  1. Pingback: Kimi ga Kureta Natsu / 君がくれた夏 cover art and track list announced! | Thoughts on Oku Hanako

What are your thoughts on Oku Hanako?

