Translation for Chocolate / チョコレート

Chocolate / CHOKORĒTO / チョコレート

I decided to translate this song because it sounded sweet (ha-ha), light-hearted and fun! Despite its cuteness, though, there are still some sad undertones that caught me by surprise. Like bittersweet chocolates indeed.


Lyrics

Translation

I wonder when I started to fall in love with you
Feeling happier just by gazing at it,
Not letting anyone else see,
Wanting to keep it to myself—
This love is like sweet chocolates in a box

Straight away, straight away
I leapt right into your heart

Saying “I love you” many times over
In an almost-crushing embrace
Hand in hand, I felt that we could go anywhere
I want to gaze at you always
And be closer to you than anyone else
My heart feels so warm, that the sweet chocolates
Look as if they’ve already melted away

Even if I stretched myself, I wouldn’t be able to close the distance with you
And it’s a little painful, like bittersweet chocolates
Just being by my side, even my uneasy feelings are forgotten
Don’t laugh at me on the side for being so naïve

Wherever you are,
Whatever you’re doing
I can only think about you

Always saying “I love you”
In an shy-like embrace
This scent, this place—
I don’t want to give it away to anyone else
Your hand on my shoulder has made me melt even further
I’ll try to hide them in the refrigerator
The sweet chocolates are already only mine

Straight away, straight away
I leapt right into your heart

Saying “I love you” many times over
In an almost-crushing embrace
Hand in hand, I felt that we could go anywhere
I want to gaze at you always
And be closer to you than anyone else
Two people’s hearts melting together;
It looks as if the sweet chocolates have already melted
Translation by Rosanne

7 thoughts on “Translation for Chocolate / チョコレート

  1. Pingback: Chocolate / チョコレート | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  2. “Despite its cuteness, though, there are still some sad undertones that caught me by surprise.”
    That’s Oku Hanako for you. This won’t be the first time you’ll encounter that.

    I echo Andreas’ comment. Thanks, Rosanne. Reading this translation certainly gave me a deeper appreciation for the song, and even more so than what a more literal (machine-esque) translation would give.

  3. Rosanne, thanks a lot for this nice translation – very SWEET of you!
    Hi Denny, why don’t you try “real” chocolate – like swiss one 😉 ?

What are your thoughts on Oku Hanako?

