Garnet / ガーネット

Garnet / GAANETTO / ガーネット: “Garnet“, as in the birthstone.

In two days, Thoughts on Oku Hanako will celebrate its one year anniversary. If my records are correct, on July 20, I claimed the address pltgokuhanako.wordpress.com. I figured it’d be appropriate to post the first song ever posted on this blog, which also happens to be the song that started it all for me (depending on how you look at it), and therefore the indirect reason why this blog exists.

Garnet: the credits song and main theme song of the anime movie Toki wo Kakeru Shoujo / 時をかける少女[jp] (English title: The Girl Who Leapt Through Time. Often abbreviated as to “tokikake”). The music video features the hikigatari version, but the version that can be heard in the credits is this arranged version. This is the song that really made Oku Hanako famous because of its inclusion in the movie.

After reading an interview last September, I realized why the song is called “Garnet”; after all, the word GAANETTO / ガーネット is never mentioned in the song. The title refers to the birthstone of January. As the poem says:

By her who in this month (January) is born
No gem save garnets should be worn;
They will ensure her constancy,
True friendship, and fidelity.

It’s a very fitting title as the song speaks of love from a friend. (A translation is available)


【時をかける少女】ガーネット by hamut3939 [YouTube]

I used to find the arrangement of this song to be distracting and unnecessary, and in some ways I still do. However, I have learned to appreciate it.

As for the blog, I still have pages “under construction”…. I really have to get around to doing those.


Lyrics

Roumaji

Gurando kaketeku anata no senaka wa
Sora ni ukanda kumo yori mo jiyuu de
NOOTO ni naranda shikakui moji sae
Subete wo terasu hikari ni mieta

Suki to yuu kimochi ga wakaranakute
Nido to wa modoranai kono jikan ga
Sono imi wo atashi ni oshiete kureta

Anata to sugoshita hibi wo kono mune ni yakitsukeyou
Omoidasanakute mo daijoubu na you ni
Itsuka hoka no dareka wo suki ni natta to shite mo
Anata wa zutto tokubetsu de taisetsu de
Mata kono kisetsu ga megutteku

Hajimete futari de hanashita houkago
Dare mo shiranai egao sagashiteita
Tooku de anata no hashaideru koe ni
Naze daka mune ga itakunatta no

Kawatte yuku koto wo kowagatteta no
Zutto tomodachi no mama ireru ki ga shita
Owatteku mono nado nai to omotta

Hateshitenai toki no naka de anata to deaeta koto ga
Nani yori mo atashi wo tsuyoku shite kureta ne
Muchuu de kakeru ashita ni tadoritsuita to shite mo
Anata wa zutto tokubetsu de taisetsu de
Mata kono kisetsu ga yatte kuru

Itsumademo wasurenai to anata ga ittekureta natsu
Toki ga nagare imagoro atashi wa namida ga koborete kita

Anata to sugoshita hibi wo kono mune ni yakitsukeyou
Omoidasanakute mo daijoubu na you ni
Itsuka hoka no dareka wo suki ni natta to shitemo
Anata wa zutto tokubetsu de taisetsu de
Mata kono kisetsu ga megutteku

From JpopAsia

Japanese

グラウンド駆けてくあなたの背中は
空に浮かんだ雲よりも自由で
ノートに並んだ四角い文字さえ
すべてを照らす光に見えた

好きという気持ちが分からなくて
二度とは戻らないこの時間が
その意味をあたしに教えてくれた

あなたと過ごした日々を この胸に焼き付けよう
思い出さなくても大丈夫なように
いつか他の誰かを好きになったとしても
あなたはずっと特別で 大切で
またこの季節が めぐってく

はじめて二人で話した放課後
誰も知らない笑顔探していた
遠くであなたのはしゃいでる声に
なぜだか胸が痛くなったの

変わってゆく事を怖がってたの
ずっと友達のままいれる気がした
終わってく物など無いと思った

果てしない時間の中で あなたと出会えた事が
何よりもあたしを強くしてくれたね
夢中でかける明日に辿り着いたとしても
あなたはずっと特別で 大切で
またこの季節が やってくる

いつまでも忘れないと あなたが言ってくれた夏
時間が流れ 今頃あたしは涙がこぼれてきた

あなたと過ごした日々を この胸に焼き付けよう
思い出さなくても大丈夫なように
いつか他の誰かを好きになったとしても
あなたはずっと特別で 大切で
またこの季節が めぐってく

From okuhanako.net

Translation

As you ran around the baseball field
You seemed freer than the clouds in the sky
Even your blocky writing in your notebook
Seemed like a light that lit everything

I didn’t understand the emotion of love
This moment in time that will never return
Taught me the true meaning of love

I’m going to burn into my heart
The memories of of love
So I never have to remember then
Even if I someday fall in love with somebody else
You will always be special and precious
And this season will come around again

When we spoke for the first time after school
I was looking for a smile that no one else knew
Hearing your excited voice from a distance
For some reason, my heart began to ache

I was afraid of things changing
I felt that we would always be friends
And thought nothing would ever end

The fact that I met you in the vastness of time
Has made me stronger than anything else
Running towards tomorrow in a daze
And I just so happen to get there
You will always be special and precious
And this season will come once more

That summer you promised me
That you’d never forget
Time has passed
And only now my tears begin to flow

I’m going to burn into my heart
The memories of love
So I never have to remember then
Even if I someday fall in love with somebody else
You will always be special and precious
And this season will come around again

Translation from the music video’s subtitles included with the English release of tokikake

5 thoughts on “Garnet / ガーネット

  1. Pingback: Oku Hanako 10th Anniversary Rental Best ~NON STOP CD~ | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  2. Pingback: It looks like Oku Hanako did another movie theme song | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  3. Pingback: The Girl Who Leapt Through Time | Thoughts on Oku Hanako

What are your thoughts on Oku Hanako?

