Hanabi (Piano Hikigatari) / 花火(ピアノ弾き語り)

In full:
Hanabi ~ Kimi ni Koishita Natsu no Hi (Piano Hikigatari) / 花火~君に恋した夏の日(ピアノ弾き語り

Hanabi / 花火 : “fireworks”

2015-07-25: Added translation

What’s more appropriate than having fireworks on the Fourth of July?

Ahh, “Hanabi”: the prize of Oku Hanako’s indies career. This single, released in 2004 and re-released in 2009, is probably one of her better-known indies songs. The single is also the only indies release to feature arranged songs, including the arranged version I posted earlier this year.

The hikigatari version isn’t as light and smooth-sounding as the arranged version, but I find it to be more genuine-sounding and more emotionally moving. Again, this is probably because there’s nothing in the song to distract you from its core.


【奥華子】 花火 × 埼玉:小江戸川越花火大会【Aug 06,2011】 by PretoriaCastle [YouTube]

According to one source, the old name for this song was Gin’iro no Kisetsu / 銀色の季節 (“silver season”). According to my interpretation of the machine translation of the 16th history page, the original lyrics were gin’iro no kisetsu / 銀色の季節 (how that fit, I don’t know). The crowds replaced it with hanabi / 花火, and it stuck. Either that, or people just started calling it by the frequent word in the chorus as people do for many songs, and it stuck. I’m inclined to go with the latter.

I realized something recently: one of the reasons why the hikigatari versions often sound more powerful is because you don’t get any support from the nonexistent arrangement. To make it not boring, you have to compensate with your playing or your voice. Hanako-san does a great job of doing both.


Lyrics

Roumaji

Kimi ni koi shi ta natsu no hi
nami on kikoeru kaerimichi hajimete kisu o shi ta ne
itsumo yakusoku shite ta ne
mayonaka ni sotto nukedashi te futari no hoshi sagashi ta

suna ni kai ta ano hi no rakugaki
ima mo mune no naka kie naku te

natsu no yozora ni miage ta hanabi itai hodo mune ni yakitsui ta
kimi ha nan do mo senobi o shi nagara todoki sou da ne to waratta ne
kimi no namida mo boku no yowa sa mo onaji mirai o shinji te i ta
boku ha koboreochi sou na omoi o yozora ni kakushite ta

motto yasashiku deki tara mayowa zu ni i tara
tooku made kimi o tsuredase ta no ka na

machiawase yukata sugata no kimi
terekusaku te nani mo ie nakatta

natsu no yozora ni miage ta hanabi itai hodo mune ni yakitsui ta
butsukariau hitonami wake te futari dake no basho o sagashi ta ne
toorisugi te ku kaze no mukou ni kotae ga aru to shinji te i ta
tsunai da te ga hodoke nai you ni tsuyoku nigirishimete ta

kimi ga suki da yo kimi ga suki da yo todoka nai koe de saken de i ta
natsu no yozora ni miage ta hanabi itai hodo mune ni yakitsui ta
toorisugi te ku kaze no mukou ni kotae ga aru to shinji te i ta
boku ha koboreochi sou na omoi o tsuyoku dakishimete ta

kimi ga i ta natsu no hi

Transliterated using the J-talk Kanji Converter

Japanese

君に恋した 夏の日
波音聞こえる帰り道 初めてキスをしたね
いつも約束してたね
真夜中にそっと抜け出して ふたりの星探した

砂に書いたあの日の落書き
今も胸の中消えなくて

夏の夜空に見上げた花火 痛いほど胸に焼き付いた
君は何度も背伸びをしながら 届きそうだねと笑ったね
君の涙も 僕の弱さも 同じ未来を信じていた
僕は零れ落ちそうな思いを 夜空に隠してた

もっと優しくできたら 迷わずにいたら
遠くまで君を連れ出せたのかな

待ち合わせ 浴衣姿の君
照れくさくて何も言えなかった

夏の夜空に見上げた花火 痛いほど胸に焼き付いた
ぶつかり合う人波分けて 二人だけの場所を探したね
通り過ぎてく 風の向こうに 答えがあると信じていた
繋いだ手がほどけないように 強く握り締めてた

君が好きだよ 君が好きだよ 届かない声で叫んでいた
夏の夜空に見上げた花火 痛いほど胸に焼き付いた
通り過ぎてく 風の向こうに 答えがあると信じていた
僕は零れ落ちそうな思いを 強く抱き締めてた

君がいた夏の日

From okuhanako.net

Translation

The summer’s day I fell in love with you,
Hearing the sound of ocean waves on the way home
That was the first time we kissed, wasn’t it?
We were always making promises to each other
Quietly sneaking out in the middle of the night, we searched for stars together

That day’s scribbles written on the sand
Still haven’t vanished from my heart, even now

The fireworks we saw as we looked up at the summer night sky
Burned in my heart until it hurt
You tried to reach for them on tiptoe countless times, and laughed
With your tears, and my weakness—I believed we would have the same future
I hid away into the night sky the feelings that threatened to spill out

If I had been more affectionate,
If I hadn’t been hesitant,
Would I have been able to take you far away?

We met up, you clad in a yukata
But in my awkwardness, I was unable to say anything

The fireworks we saw as we looked up at the summer night sky
Burned in my heart until it hurt
Colliding with a surging crowd and trying to cut through,
We were looking for a place to be alone by ourselves
I believed that the answer was on the other side of the passing breeze
I gripped your hand tightly so that our interlocked hands wouldn’t break apart

I love you,
I love you!
I shouted it out but my voice didn’t carry
The fireworks we saw as we looked up at the summer night sky
Burned in my heart until it hurt
I believed that the answer was on the other side of the passing breeze
I clung on tightly to the feelings that threatened to spill out

The summer’s day you were there

Translation by Rosanne

6 thoughts on “Hanabi (Piano Hikigatari) / 花火(ピアノ弾き語り)

  1. Pingback: Hanabi / 花火 (2015) | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  2. Pingback: Translation for Hanabi / 花火 | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  3. Pingback: Kusabi (single) / 楔 -くさび- | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  4. Pingback: Kusabi / 楔 track list announced! | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  5. I have this one on my phone legally. This is the only downloadable Hanako Oku music from Amazon in the US, at least that I know of. If you buy it, you get this song, this song played with other instruments, er… um .. the “arranged” version, plus the “Tra-La-La” track (groovy synthesizer music).

    Oku-san is not wearing glasses on the cover art. (I think you had posted that before.)

    I like to compare and contrast the two versions of Hanabi. Which one do I like better? … Which ever one I’m listening to!

    … take me away Little Great One : )

    • For the record, it’s also the only release from Oku Hanako on iTunes in the US.
      You don’t even have to buy it to get a legal copy. If your local library supports the Freegal Music service, you can download the single for free, and again, this is her only release on that service.

What are your thoughts on Oku Hanako?

