Translation for Chiisana Hoshi / 小さな星

Chiisana Hoshi / 小さな星: “tiny star”

Finally, the wait is over! One of Oku Hanako’s best indies songs, Chiisana Hoshi / 小さな星, now has a translation.

My friend Rosanne agreed to do a translation for us, and I specifically asked her to do this song because I know a lot of you have been itching for one. Even better, she’s also fluent in English, so we can get a translation that’s a little more on the poetic side, which this one aims to be.

Thanks, Rosanne!


Lyrics

Translation

I’m sure I was weak
For thinking, if only for a moment,
that I would not have fallen in love with you
Had I known that love was this sad

Look, the sunset is turning crimson
Continuing on to your neighbourhood
Even today, even tomorrow

We are becoming closer and closer
Even though we become further and further apart
We are connected
Don’t forget me, wherever you are
We are becoming closer and closer
Always, surely, even more
I want to become gentler
Even on nights we can’t be together
Your heart will be by my side

A kiss over the phone,
A promise at the end of a month;
Even though it feels like I can be strengthened by just those things,
Since I was unable to hold down the uneasy feelings,
I selfishly let the tears fall

In the night sky, the tiny stars
Continue to bind you and me
Even today, even tomorrow

We are becoming closer and closer
Even though we become further and further apart
Even though it’s heart-wrenching
Even though it’s painful
I will be thinking only of you
We are becoming closer and closer
Always, surely, even more
I want to protect you
Even on nights we can’t be together
My heart will be by your side

To what extent should I line up my words
So that they’ll reach you?
Never let me go
So that we won’t lose to the distance that gets in the way of two people

We are becoming closer and closer
Even though we become further and further apart
We are connected
Don’t forget me, wherever you are
We are becoming closer and closer
Always, surely, even more
I want to become gentler
Even on nights we can’t be together
Your heart will be by my side

Translation by Rosanne

8 thoughts on “Translation for Chiisana Hoshi / 小さな星

  1. Pingback: Chiisana Hoshi (Oyasumi version) / 小さな星(おやすみversion) | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  2. Pingback: Intro / 自己紹介 – About the Translator | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  3. Many, many thanks to Rosanne for this beautiful translation! I really appreciate it!

  4. Pingback: Chiisana Hoshi / 小さな星 | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  5. Pingback: Chiisana Hoshi / 小さな星 [vol.best] | Thoughts on Oku Hanako

What are your thoughts on Oku Hanako?

