Taiyou no Shita de / 太陽の下で

Taiyou no Shita de / 太陽の下で: “under the sun”

taiyou / 太陽
“sun”. Breaking down the kanji, I think it is literally “great light” (太: “great”, “big”; 陽: “sun”, “light”)
shita / 下
“under”, “below”
de / で
“indicates being at a location” (Wiktionary)

“Taiyou no Shita de” was one of the first few songs I found while scouring through YouTube in the few weeks after watching The Girl Who Leapt Through Time. I thought it was really good, but I ignored it afterwards because I didn’t know where it was from. After all, the only thing I had to go from was the list of her singles on Wikipedia.

Months later, I came across it again when I found the Generasia wiki.

I was having yet another struggle with “The Predicament” because my Oku Hanako songs were slowly outnumbering my Peter Cetera songs. This is the song which I claimed at the time “cured me of The Predicament”: after hearing it, I no longer cared about how different her music was compared to the rest of my library and that it’s technically J-pop. (I had a small bout about it later on, but that’s another story).


奥華子 ♪太陽の下でin蕨小中学校閉校式にて by NPO shimabito

To add a little trivia, Taiyou no Shita de is the “image song” of Sun Street Hamakita[jp].

I love it! Her singing, her playing, the instrumentation, it’s all beautiful. And that trumpet in the interlude: oh, it makes me close my eyes and forget that I ever had a problem with Oku Hanako. I’m somewhat partial to horns because of Peter Cetera and Chicago. I wonder if it’s Hanako-san herself playing the trumpet bit; after all, she does play the trumpet, too.

I find this song to be a precursor of sorts to the style of her next “era” of songs (again, when I get around to posting my “theory of threes”, this will make more sense). As an example, compare it to Ashita Saku Hana / 明日咲く花.

All in all, it’s a very pleasing song to listen to. Too bad we don’t hear too many of these in her discography.


Lyrics

Roumaji

Oukiku iki wo suikonde bokura wa doko ni mukatte no yuku?
Chiisana heya ni akari wo tsuke kyou no jibun wo tomoshimashou

Sayonara wa mou deai no hajimari egao no naka de naite waratte kurikaeshite ku

Ashita e to tsuzuite ku michi ga arukara aruite aruite yukeru nda
Nanigenai mainichi no egao ga areba bokura wa tsunagatte yukeru taiyou no shita de

Anata ga dare ka wo omou toki soko ni yasashii kaze ga fuite
Donna enogu demo egakenai iro azayakana kokoro ni narudeshou

Arukitsukarete tachidomatte mo shinjiru michi wo akiramenaide sagashi ni ikou

Mirai e to tsuzuite ku michi ga arukara nando mo nando mo ikeru nda
Onaji hoshi onaji toki onaji chikara de bokura wa tsunagatte yukeru taiyou no shita de

Ashita e to tsuzuite ku michi ga arukara aruite aruite yukeru nda
Nanigenai mainichi no egao ga areba bokura wa tsunagatte yukeru taiyou no shita de

From Zing.vn

Japanese

大きく息を吸い込んで 僕等はどこに向かってゆく?
小さな部屋に灯りをつけ 今日の自分を灯しましょう

サヨナラはもう出会いの始まり 笑顔の中で 泣いて笑って繰り返してく

明日へと続いてく道があるから 歩いて歩いて行けるんだ
何気ない毎日の笑顔があれば 僕等は繋がってゆける 太陽の下で

あなたが誰かを思う時 そこに優しい風が吹いて
どんな絵の具でも描けない 色鮮やかな心になるでしょう

歩き疲れて立ち止まっても 信じる道を諦めないで探しに行こう

未来へと続いてく道があるから 何度も何度も行けるんだ
同じ星 同じ時 同じ力で 僕等は繋がってゆける 太陽の下で

明日へと続いてく道があるから 歩いて歩いて行けるんだ
何気ない毎日の笑顔があれば 僕等は繋がってゆける 太陽の下で

From okuhanako.net

5 thoughts on “Taiyou no Shita de / 太陽の下で

  1. I have always liked this video, and wondered what it was really about.
    November 18, 2008? Do you know what the footage is about? Was there a natural disaster, or did they close the school due to declining birth rates?

  2. The song that they’re singing in the video is Waratte Waratte / 笑って笑って. The footage is the same as the one in this video:

    I’ll post this video again when I post the indies version of Waratte Waratte / 笑って笑って.

What are your thoughts on Oku Hanako?

