Ashita Saku Hana / 明日咲く花

Ashita Saku Hana / 明日咲く花: “Flower that blooms tomorrow”

2015-05-14: Added translation

ashita / 明日
“tomorrow”. Notice the first character, 明 , contains 日, meaning “sun”, and 月, meaning “moon”. So, “sun” “moon” “sun”: “tomorrow”.
saku / 咲く
“bloom”
hana / 花
“flower”

Clever, isn’t it? “April showers bring May flowers”. Don’t be surprised if you see another song or two related to flowers this month.

“Ashita Saku Hana” is Oku Hanako’s seventh single, released in 2008, and is the theme song to NHK‘s Sekai isshuu! Chikyuu ni fureru. Eko dai kikou / 世界一周! 地球に触れる・エコ大紀行 (“Around the World! Touch the Earth Eco-Travelogue”).

I think the best way to describe this song is, quite fittingly, “flowery”, especially the opening. It’s strongly, yet gently sung; there’s a sense of control and command in the song. I’d say this song is fairly representative of her style at this point in her career: the other songs might not be so extravagantly arranged, but starting here, she has started to experiment with fuller arrangements and her songs become more diverse. In her previous albums, Koi Tegami / 恋手紙 and TIME NOTE, there was arguably not much variation in the songs (whether that’s a good or bad thing is up to interpretation). The next album, BIRTHDAY, had a broader range in style.


Oku Hanako – Hashita Saku Hana by babyscorpion1986 [YouTube]

The drum line that comes in at the second chorus bothered me for a while because it sounded uncannily familiar. About a month or two later, I realized I had heard it in Spandau Ballet’s Through the Barricades, although I’m sure it’s a fairly common drum line.


Lyrics

Roumaji

Sagashite itai kagayakeru basho e to
Ashita saku hana wo kimi ni adzukeru kara

Kaze ni sasowarete yuku mada minu michi wo aruiteku
Boku no kono ashimoto ni chiisana tane ga ochite ita

Kirei da ne kimi ni miseyou houseki no you na hikari no tane
Ima boku ga mukau beki michi sae terashite

Kagayakeru basho e itsuka ikeru no nara
Kono hoshi no dokoka ni hikari sagashite yuku
Boku ga mitsuketa mono kimi ga nakushita mono
Mouichido bokura wa aruki hajimete iru

Kimi ni kirei na tane wo mite hoshikute ai ni ittara
Boku no kono te no naka de mou kagayaki wo ushinatte ita

Taisetsuna koto wo boku wa itsunomani wasurete shimatta no darou
Kono tane wa tenohira ga ikite wa yukenai

Kagayakeru basho e kitto modoreru kara
Kono hoshi no dokoka ni hikari sagashite yuku
Arubeki sugata wo mamorinuku tsuyosa wo
Mouichido bokura wa omoi egaite yuku masshiro na sekai wo

Hiroi sora no shita de toki wa nagarete yuku
Kawari yuku kisetsu wo koe bokura no hana sakasete

Kagayakeru basho e itsuka ikeru no nara
Kono hoshi no dokoka ni hikari sagashite yuku
Boku ga mitsuketa mono kimi ga nakushita mono
Ashita saku hana wo tsutaerareru you ni
Aru beki sugata wo mamorinuku tsuyosa wo
Mouichido bokura wa aruki hajimete yuku

Transliteration by TheShephiroth1

Japanese

探していたい 輝ける場所へと 明日咲く花を君に預けるから

風に誘われてゆく まだ見ぬ道を歩いてく
僕の足元に 小さな種が落ちていた

綺麗だね 君に見せよう 宝石のような光の種
今 僕が向かうべき道さえ照らして

輝ける場所へ いつか行けるのなら
この地球の何処かに 光探してゆく
僕が見つけたもの 君が無くしたもの
もう一度僕らは 歩き始めている

君に綺麗な種を見てほしくて 会いに行ったら
僕のこの手の中で もう輝きを失っていた

大切な事を僕はいつのまに 忘れてしまったのだろう
この種は 手の平じゃ生きてはゆけない

輝ける場所へ きっと戻れるから
この地球の何処かに 光探してゆく
あるべき姿を 守り抜く強さを
もう一度は僕らは 想い描いてゆく 真っ白な世界を

広い空の下で 時は流れてゆく
変わりゆく季節を越え 僕らの花咲かせて

輝ける場所へ いつか行けるのなら
この地球の何処かに 光探してゆく
僕が見つけたもの 君が無くしたもの
明日咲く花を伝えられるように
あるべき姿を 守り抜く強さを
もう一度僕らは 歩き始めてゆく

From okuhanako.net

Translation

I want to search for it,
All the way to the place that shines,
In order to entrust to you the flower that blooms tomorrow

Being swayed away by the wind, still walking along an unseen path,
At my feet, there is a small seed that has fallen onto the ground

It’s beautiful, isn’t it?
I want to show it to you—this seed that sparkles like a gem
Right now, it’s even illuminating the path that I must face

To someday be able to go to the place that shines,
I will continue to search for the light that exists somewhere in this earth
What I found, what you lost
We’re starting to walk once more

I wanted you to see the beautiful seed, but when we met up,
The seed had already lost its glow inside this hand of mine

Just when did I forget those precious things?
This seed can’t go on living in the palm of my hand

I’m sure I’ll be able to return to the place that shines, so
I will continue searching for the light that exists somewhere in this earth
The way things should be, the strength that holds fast,
Once again, we’ll be imagining away a pure white world

Beneath the expansive sky, time is flowing on
Passing through the ever-changing seasons
Making our flowers bloom

To someday be able to go to the place that can shine,
I will search for the light that exists somewhere in this earth
What I found, what you lost
In order to be able to pass on the flower that blooms tomorrow
The way things should be, the strength that holds fast,
We’re starting to walk once more

Translation by Rosanne

9 thoughts on “Ashita Saku Hana / 明日咲く花

  1. Pingback: Suteki na Michi / 素敵な道 | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  2. Pingback: Translation for Ashita Saku Hana / 明日咲く花 | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  3. Pingback: Taiyou no Shita de / 太陽の下で | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  4. Sorry, I tried to post just the one video of ASHITA SAKU HANA / 明日咲く花 but it posted my whole playlist! Sorry. Worst part of that is now my playlist is mostly “deleted video”.

    • Fixed. To prevent this from happening again, make sure that in the URL you post, only v=video_id appears after the question mark, where video_id is a sequence like I3PA5pM98-0.
      Thanks for sharing!

      • Sorry again, and thanks. Have you ever been to someone’s house and they have one of those little “yapper” dogs that happily bark and jump up and down on you all excited? They are so excited to see someone new, and want to play. Meanwhile they keep jumping up on you with their paws.

        That’s how I feel about Hanako Oku discussions! I don’t have anyone to talk to about Oku. I get over excited and start jumping up and down whenever I get a chance to talk about Hanako Oku. You can just see me jumping up and down on the visitor, while my Master says “Down Rex, down…” I’m so happy to talk about Hanako Oku, I can’t help myself, and sometimes I make mistakes.

        Oh no, I peed on the floor …

      • I know how you feel. Sure, I’ve gotten a few of my friends into her (shelbiwan, for example), but none of them have fallen as hard as I have, and it’s not the same as finding someone who has already heard of her before my mention, and even more so if in person. Shiori was someone who had heard of her before my mention, but she’s from Japan, so she sort of doesn’t count.

        Thankfully, I’m not responsible for cleaning the floor here. That’s a job for the WordPress.com team.

What are your thoughts on Oku Hanako?

