Rainy Day

Rainy Day

Here we dive into a little Oku Hanako history. “Rainy Day” is one of her really early indies songs, before her vol.x indies CDs. “Rainy Day” was released in 2003, and vol.1 in 2004. This song appeared as track 4 in an omnibus called “Cocktail2”, part of the Cocktail series released by King Records containing piano hikigatari songs by indies artists. (Maybe it was a competition; I don’t remember).

Cocktail2 cover art

Cocktail2

If the artists selection page means anything, then Oku Hanako is the left-most one on the cover.

2003 was before she started wearing glasses:

Oku Hanako in Cocktail2

Oku Hanako in 2003 as she appears in Cocktail2

This is taken from page in the Cocktail2 booklet:

Oku Hanako in Cocktail2

Oku Hanako’s page in the Cocktail2 booklet

Now then, the song that was put in the release:


“Rainy Day” by Oku Hanako by mokade3 [YouTube]

She doesn’t often go that low, but when she does, she pulls it off really nicely; this is no exception. Her singing, her playing; the song is beautifully done. It’s a sad song, but beautiful nonetheless. Even this early in her works she impresses me! Simply amazing…


Lyrics

Roumaji

Ame wa tada furitsudui te iru nezumiiro no sora no shita de
hikatta asufaruto no ue wo kirameku ki tomadoi sa mayoi nagara
kimi ga boku ni nokoshi ta mono wa tsukai kake no keshou suito
yomiowatta zasshi no yama to tēburu no ue no mizuiro no tegami

doushite itsumo kimi wa hitori de kime te shimau no darou?
boku nara kitto heiki da to omotte iru no kai?
nani ga monotarinai n dayo nani ga yasashi sugiru n da yo
kimi no moji wo nigiritsubushi heya o tobidashi ta

Rainy Day itsuka hareru to shitteite mo
Rainy Day ima wa tada ame ni nuretai
noraneko mitai ni michi wo yokogitte mo mou dare mo boku wo sagashi wa shinainda

igan da mama no kābu mirā ha imi mo naku boku wo utsushi te
zubunure no shatsu wa boku no kokoro ni iki o koroshi te tsumetaku haritsuita mama

aisareru koto ga annani suteki na hibi de
kakegaenonai jikan da to kimi ga oshie te kure ta
dakara ima no boku ni wa nanihitotsu omoide ni dekinai
kimi ga afureru mizu tamari ni obore te i tainda

Rainy Day itsuka hareru to shitteite mo
Rainy Day ima wa tada ame ni nuretai
noraneko mitai ni michi wo yokogitte mo mou dare mo boku wo sagashi wa shinainda

moshimo kimi ga totsuzen modotte ki tara
nani mo iwa zu ni tsuyoku dakishime te shimai sou da kedo…

Rainy Day doko made mo tsuduku michi wo
Rainy Day furisosogu ame ni utarete
kimi ga i naku te mo arui te ikeru to miage ta sora ni itsuka omoeru you ni

Transliterated with the J-talk Kanji Converter

Japanese

雨はただ降り続いている 鼠色の空の下で
光ったアスファルトの上を 煌き 戸惑い さ迷いながら
君が僕に残したモノは 使いかけの化粧水と
読み終わった雑誌の山と テーブルの上の水色の手紙

どうしていつも君は 一人で決めてしまうのだろう?
僕ならきっと平気だと思っているのかい?
何が物足りないんだよ 何が優しすぎるんだよ
君の文字を握り潰し 部屋を飛び出した

Rainy Day いつか晴れると知っていても
Rainy Day 今はただ雨に濡れたい
野良猫みたいに道を横切っても もう誰も僕を探しはしないんだ

歪んだままのカーブミラーは 意味もなく僕を映して
ずぶ濡れのシャツは 僕の心に 息を殺して冷たく貼り付いたまま

愛される事が あんなに素敵な日々で
かけがえの無い時間だと 君が教えてくれた
だから今の僕には 何一つ思い出に出来ない
君が溢れる水溜りに 溺れていたいんだ

Rainy Day いつか晴れると知っていても
Rainy Day 今はただ雨に濡れたい
野良猫みたいに道を横切っても もう誰も僕を探しはしないんだ

もしも君が突然戻ってきたら
何も言わずに強く抱き締めてしまいそうだけど・・・

Rainy Day どこまでも続く道を
Rainy Day 降り注ぐ雨にうたれて
君がいなくても歩いて行けると 見上げた空にいつか思えるように

From okuhanako.net

Translation

It keeps raining under the grey sky, glimmering, at a loss,
wandering on the asphalt surface which sometimes gleams
What you left me are the rest of skin lotion,
a pile of magazines you have read, and a light-blue letter on the table

Why do you decide everything by yourself?
You think I’m alright in spite of all that?
Tell me what’s not entirely satisfactory? What’s too tender?
I crushed your scripts and rushed out into the street.

Rainy day… even if I know it will be fine someday
Rainy day… I just want to be soaked with rain
Now nobody looks for me while I cut across a path like a stray cat

A warped curved mirror reflects me without meaning
A drenched shirt which won’t breathe is sticking coldly to my heart

How splendid, how irreplaceable to be loved is
I have learned this from you
So I cannot take everything as memories
I just want to be drowned in puddles brimful of you

Rainy day… even if I know it will be fine someday
Rainy day… I just want to be soaked with rain
Now nobody looks for me while I cut across a path like a stray cat

If you should return suddenly,
I will give you a tight hug without a word

Rainy day… a path to the end of the world
Rainy day… beaten by the falling rain
Although I lost you, someday so I may believe
That I keep walking all the path, looking up into the blue sky

Translation by mokade3

10 thoughts on “Rainy Day

  1. Pingback: Haruka Tooku ni Mieteita Kyou released! | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  2. Pingback: New album announced: Haruka Tooku ni Mieteita Kyou / 遥か遠くに見えていた今日 | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  3. Pingback: Ashita Saku Hana / 明日咲く花 | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  4. Pingback: Ameagari / 雨あがり | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  5. I know I heard this before but I can’t seem to find it on my playlist… Did it possibly go by another name in japanese?

    • To quote shelbiwan without permission (I’m sure she’ll be fine with it):

      WHOA
      THAT’S OKU HANAKO
      she looks badass
      she’s gonna kick butt in that picture

      It is a nice picture, I agree.

What are your thoughts on Oku Hanako?

