Translation for BIRTHDAY

I have a translation for Birthday! I asked my friend Shiori (she’s from Japan!) if she was willing to do some translations. She said she would like to help but will probably be too busy to be the site’s regular translator, but she did translate Birthday, my latest post at the time.

Below is Shiori’s translation, with some of my edits. Thanks, Shiori!


Lyrics

Translation

Happy birthday to you
Thank you for being born here.
Yes, it is the only one miracle called “you” in the world.

By chance, we passed by each other, even only for a moment, in hundreds of millions of people

At the intersection, the same bus stop, the person who sat next to me,

A cashier whom I met while shopping, a person whom I often come across at the station

By chance, we met for longer than a moment, in hundreds of millions of people.

How many faces and names of the people whom I have met so far would I know exactly?

The person whom I eat meals with, the person whom I can talk about my troubles and dreams

Being able to say “congratulations” on your birthday is a wonderful thing

Happy birthday to you
Thank you for being born here.
Yes, it is the only one miracle called “you” in the world.

There are 365 days in a year, and no day is the same.

As if four seasons come and go,

As if the rainy day is not always followed by a sunny day,

Every day is your birthday, you can start over any number of times.

Everyone is designed to be able only to go to tomorrow.

Happy birthday to you
I wish you will be like yourself, not only today but also tomorrow.

I am always watching over you. I am always on your side.

It’s a miracle that I was born in the same period as you by chance and came across you by chance,

I’ll give you flowers to thank you and congratulate you.

Happy birthday to you
No one can live by and for oneself

Yes, forever, anytime, you will never be only yourself.

Happy birthday to you
Thank you for being born here.

Yes, it is the only one miracle called “you” in the world.

Based on a translation by my friend Shiori

4 thoughts on “Translation for BIRTHDAY

  1. Now that I see the translation, I am getting a new perspective on the song. Before I knew what the words were, I thought “Happy Birthday” was applied more generally. Maybe even toward a group of people. Maybe I got that idea from seeing it performed live.

    I see now that the sentiment is not generic. (Is there anything more generic than the sing-songy “Happy Birthday to You” we all learn as children?) The lyrics become much more PERSONAL … and philosophical. This lady might be deep : )

  2. I also want to send many thanks to Shiori for the translation, it is very much appreciated!

What are your thoughts on Oku Hanako?

