Lost Time / ロスタイム

Lost Time / ROSUTAIMU / ロスタイム

2015-03-20: Added translation

Yes, that’s “loss”, not “lost”; if I’m not mistaken, “lost” is transliterated in katakana as ROSUTO / ロスト . Since it’s “loss”, the title should be interpreted similarly to “a time for loss”. Unfortunately, the machine translation is way too jumbled for me to figure out what it’s about, so I can’t give any meaning to the title. As Rosanne pointed out in her post, it actually is “Lost Time”.

“Lost Time” is the opening track for Oku Hanako’s 2012 album, “good-bye”, and it’s not a bad choice at all. Considering the rest of the tracks on the album, I’d say “Loss Time” can be taken as an average of sorts: walking pace with a light-but-not-too-light arrangement. In my opinion, it’s probably one of her most pleasurable songs to listen to.


ロスタイム (Loss Time) – Hanako Oku [zing.vn]

I’m here with my hands pressed up against my headphones, speechless in awe of how beautiful the song is. I’m here debating whether I should listen to it again; it’s so good that I want to, but it ended on such a satisfying note that I don’t want to ruin it (not that this is the first time I’ve listened to it).

Just leave me here to sigh in peace….


I find almost every album of hers has a song which is predictive of the overall feel of her following album. Although I closely associate “Loss Time” with “good-bye”, having heard Fuyu Hanabi / 冬花火 and Anata to Denwa / あなたと電話 from her latest single, I think this song might just be that predictive song on the album (the two songs on the single will also be included in her next album).

Lyrics →