Koi / 恋

Koi / 恋 : “love”

Don’t be fooled by the title: this isn’t a happy love song (yes, I have a translation). One of my friends even said that the lyrics are melodramatic, after having read the translation. You’re probably wondering why I would post such a song on Valentine’s Day. I would argue that there are many types love on Valentine’s Day; the reciprocated romantic love is the common one that comes to mind when thinking about today. Unrequited love is one such love that doesn’t have as much attention in the mainstream. Sure, it gets its place in the old Peanuts cartoons, but when was the last time you saw something about unrequited love in Valentine’s Day messages?

Like many of Oku Hanako’s other songs, unrequited love is the theme of the song “Koi”. As I would expect, especially with songs of this theme, she sings this with a certain genuineness; I remember reading in one interview that doing songs about unrequited love comes naturally to her. Despite the lyrics, the song sounds pretty cute and she sings it perfectly. Her playing isn’t anything “to sneeze at”, either. I don’t mean it in a negative way, but this is your typical Oku Hanako hikigatari song. Well done, Oku Hanako!


恋 (Koi) – Hanako Oku [zing.vn]

For completeness, I’ll mention that there is an arranged version of this song that appeared in her 2012 Best album, “Oku Hanako BEST -My Letters-“. I won’t be posting that anytime soon.


Lyrics

Roumaji

Guuzen machi de futari wo mikaketa
Ano ko ga anata no itte ita kanojo, ne?
Oniai datta koto yori mo zutto
Mita koto mo nai anata no egao ga kuyashikatta

Doushite atashi ja dame nano?
Doushite anata de nakucha dame nan darou?

Suki na no ni…
Todokanai omoi wo atashi no mune ni kakushite
Kurushikute, iki mo dekinakute
Kore ijou anata wo omoi tsudzukerareru kana
Suki ni natte kureru hito dake wo suki ni naretara ii no ni

Anata to onaji seikaku wo shite
Onaji kao shita hito ga itara ii na
Sonna kudaranai koto wo itte
Nigai KOOHII maneshite atashi mo nonde mita

Nando mo akirameyou to shite
Nando mo kirai ni narou to shite mita kedo

Mou sukoshi
Kono mama no kimochi de atashi wo gomakashite ite
Samishikute, koe wo kikitakute
Dore kurai anata wo omoi tsudzukerareru kana
Suki ni natte kureru hito dake wo suki ni naretara ii no ni

Doushite atashi ja dame nano?
Doushite anata de nakucha dame nan darou?

Suki na no ni…
Todokanai omoi wo atashi no mune ni kakushite
Kurushikute, iki mo dekinakute
Kore ijou anata wo omoi tsudzukerareru kana
Suki ni natte kureru hito dake wo suki ni naretara ii no ni

From Kazabana

Japanese

偶然 街で二人を見かけた
あの子があなたの言っていた彼女ね
お似合いだった事よりもずっと
見た事もない あなたの笑顔が悔しかった

どうして あたしじゃ駄目なの?
どうして あなたでなくちゃ駄目なんだろう

好きなのに…
届かない想いを あたしの胸に隠して
苦しくて 息も出来なくて
これ以上あなたを想い続けられるかな
好きになってくれる人だけを 好きになれたらいいのに

あなたと同じ性格をして
同じ顔した人がいたらいいな
そんなくだらない事を言って
苦いコーヒー 真似してあたしも飲んでみた

何度も 諦めようとして
何度も 嫌いになろうとしてみたけど

もう少し このままの気持ちで あたしをごまかしていて
淋しくて 声を聞きたくて
どれくらいあなたを想い続けられるかな
好きになってくれる人だけを 好きになれたらいいのに

どうして あたしじゃ駄目なの?
どうして あなたでなくちゃ駄目なんだろう

好きなのに…
届かない想いを あたしの胸に隠して
苦しくて 息も出来なくて
これ以上あなたを想い続けられるかな
好きになってくれる人だけを 好きになれたらいいのに

From okuhanako.net

Translation

I happened to see the two of you in the city by chance
She is the girl you had been talking about, isn’t she?
Even though she is suitable for you
Your smile, which I had never seen before, was frustrated

Why am I not good enough?
Why am I no good without you?

Even though I like you…
I will hide the unreachable feelings in my chest
It’s painful, I can’t breathe
I wonder if I can continue to think about you any more
It would be good if you could like only the person who likes you

It would be good if there was a person with the same personality
And with the same face as you
Saying those trivial things
Pretending it was bitter coffee, I tried to swallow

No matter how many times I gave up
No matter how many times I tried to hate you

Just a little more
I’ll deceive myself with my current feelings
It’s lonely, I want to hear your voice
I wonder how much longer I can continue to think about you
It would be good if you could like only the person who likes you

Why am I not good enough?
Why am I no good without you?

Even so, I like you…
I will hide the unreachable feeling in my chest
It’s painful, I can’t breathe
I wonder if I can continue to think about you any more
It would be good if you could like only the person who likes you

From Kazabana

2 thoughts on “Koi / 恋

  1. Pingback: Anata to Denwa | Oku Hanako - Chinese to English
  2. Pingback: Oku Hanako 10th Anniversary Rental Best ~NON STOP CD~ | Thoughts on Oku Hanako

What are your thoughts on Oku Hanako?

