Ichibanboshi / 一番星

Ichibanboshi / 一番星 : “First star” (of the evening).

ichiban / 一番
“first”
hoshi / 星
“star”.
It is pronounced boshi / ぼし (with a b instead of an h) because of a phenomenon called rendaku / 連濁.

Let me change it up a little and give you an upbeat song this week.

Ichibanboshi is basically an implied wish upon the first star of the night, talking about how seeing the stars reminds her of her (lost?) love (I’m probably wrong; please correct me). Anyway, I’ve linked to a Spanish translation; assuming it’s fairly accurate, you should be able to get something more coherent from that than translating from the Japanese directly.

EDIT 2016-08-17: Daniel has provided us with an English translation.

I smile every time I hear this song. It’s just so cute! It starts off cutely, and you’re in for a treat when the bridge comes. The song is well-arranged, complete with drums, electric guitar, electric bass, strings, and of course, Oku Hanako on the keyboard and vocals. Let yourself loose and have a little fun with this one!

If you’ll be listening to this song with headphones, it’s important to use both, especially for this song because it takes advantage of the split stereo tracks; you’ll miss out on some of the good stuff if you don’t. If you really must use just one, listen to it with the right ear or in mono sound.


一番星(Ichiban Hoshi) – Hanako Oku [zing.vn]
It’s getting frustratingly difficult to stable find YouTube videos of her songs. I hope you don’t mind.

Some say that Oku-san’s voice is nasally, especially here. I like to overlook that and say it adds to the cuteness; honestly, it doesn’t bother me because I almost never notice it.


Lyrics

Roumaji

Yozora ni hikaru yo kirei na hoshi-tachi yo
Kono koi no yukue terashite kureru ka na
ROKETTO ni notte kimi ni ai ni yuku yo
Bokura ga umareta kono jidai no saki ni

“Hanarete ite mo heiki” to itta soba kara naiteta
Sonna kimi ga itoshikute shikata nai yo

Ichibanboshi mitsuketa toki futari deatta ano hi wo omoidashita
Sagashiteta no wa kitto kimi nanda
Ichibanboshi boku ni totte namida morokute sugu ni warau
Kimi no koto da yo to tsutae ni yukou yozora watatte

Kono sora no mukou mienai hoshi-tachi yo
Nan oku kounen hikaritsudzuketeru no?
Me ni utsuru mono dake ni madowasarenai you ni
boku dake no hikari sagashite miseru kara

Samishisa wo shitteru kara motto yasashiku nareru ne
Kimi wa tsuyogari ja naku itte kureta n da

Ichibanboshi mitsuketa toki hayaku kimi ni oshiete agetai n da
Doko ni ite mo kimi ni wa mieru kara
Ichibanboshi boku ni totte makezugirai de sugu kenka mo suru
Kimi no koto da yo to tsutae ni yukou yozora watatte

Kimi no koe ni wa mahou ga aru yo
Hitori no yoru aitakute, kimi no koe ga kikitakute
Aisarete aishite mo mitsukaranai mono ga aru
Dakedo ima kimi ga iru kono hoshi de boku ga iru koto tsutaetai

Ichibanboshi mitsuketa toki futari deatta ano hi wo omoidashita
Sagashiteta no wa kitto kimi nanda
Ichibanboshi boku ni totte namida morokute sugu ni warau
Kimi no koto da yo to tsutae ni yukou yozora watatte

From Ichigo no Kokoro Translations

Japanese

夜空に光るよ 綺麗な星たちよ
この恋の行方 照らしてくれるかな
ロケットに乗って君に会いに行くよ
僕らが生まれた この時代の先に

「離れていても平気」と言ったそばから泣いてた
そんな君が愛しくて仕方ないよ

一番星 見つけた時 二人出会った あの日を思い出した
探してたのは きっと君なんだ
一番星 僕にとって 涙もろくて すぐに笑う
君の事だよと伝えに行こう 夜空わたって

この空の向こう 見えない星たちよ
何億光年 光り続けてるの?
目に映るものだけに 惑わされないように
僕だけの光 探してみせるから

寂しさを知ってるから もっと優しくなれるね
君は強がりじゃなく 言ってくれたんだ

一番星 見つけた時 早く君に教えてあげたいんだ
どこにいても 君には見えるから
一番星 僕にとって 負けず嫌いで すぐ喧嘩もする
君の事だよと伝えに行こう 夜空わたって

君の声には 魔法があるよ
一人の夜 会いたくて 君の声が聞きたくて
愛されて 愛しても 見つからないものがある
だけど今 君がいる この星で僕がいること伝えたい

一番星 見つけた時 二人出会った あの日を思い出した
探してたのは きっと君なんだ
一番星 僕にとって 涙もろくて すぐに笑う
君の事だよと伝えに行こう 夜空わたって

From okuhanako.net

Translation

They’re twinkling in the night sky, the beautiful stars
Will they shine upon the course of this love?
I’ll ride on a rocket and go see you
Beyond this age in which we were born

“Even if we’re separated it’ll be okay” you said, but cried at my side
I just can’t help but love that side of you

When I find the first star of the night, I remember the day we met
Surely you were the one I was searching for
That star, to me, cries easily but quickly smiles again
“It’s you”, I’ll tell you across the night sky

Beyond this sky, there are invisible stars
Will they keep shining across millions of lightyears?
So I won’t get lost in all that I see in my eyes
I’ll only search for my light and show it to you

Since I know sadness, I can become kinder
“You’re not just acting tough”, you said to me

When I find the first star of the night, I want to show you right away
No matter where you are, you can see it
That star, to me, is competitive and quick to fight
“It’s you”, I’ll tell you across the night sky

There’s a magic to your voice
On lonely nights, I want to see you, to hear your voice
Whether we love or are loved, there’s something we don’t find
But right now you’re here, I’ll tell you with that star that I’m here too

When I find the first star of the night, I remember the day we met
Surely you were the one I was searching for
That star, to me, cries easily but quickly smiles again
“It’s you”, I’ll tell you across the night sky

Translation by Daniel

2 thoughts on “Ichibanboshi / 一番星

  1. Pingback: Translation for Ichibanboshi / 一番星 | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  2. Pingback: Japanese Lesson: Rendaku / 連濁 | Thoughts on Oku Hanako

What are your thoughts on Oku Hanako?

